A copy of the donation information can be downloaded here

A copy of the policy can be downloaded here

A copy of the policy can be downloaded here: Large Print

New Requests Spreadsheet

REQUESTS & POLICIES

Last Update: 09/04/2021

​When entering information in spreadsheet or forms, check for typos and spelling errors before sending. If there is an incorrect email address, Amy’s Bookshelf Reviews cannot respond

​REVIEW POLICIES AND RULES

​​​Amy’s Bookshelf Reviews reviews books of any genre from any author, as long as the policies and rules are followed.  (However, I do NOT read anything that supports racism, or bias against any race, gender, sexual preference, or hate of any person or group). 

REVIEW TYPE: FEATURED REVIEW AND BOOK PROMO VIDEO

Cost: $35.00 (US) (Can only be used in conjunction with another review type) And is not considered a donation but an add-on. Any author who wishes to have this feature, will be invoiced in PayPal by Amy's Bookshelf Reviews. 

The Featured YouTube Promo and Review will consist of the author's pen name, book title, the book review read by me on video, and also me reciting the book blurb or synopsis on the video. The finale of the video, will have a graphic of the book cover, and the author's preferred Book buy link. The Video will be uploaded to the new Amy's Bookshelf Reviews YouTube Channel, and it will be shared to Amy's Bookshelf Reviews Facebook page. Please, do me a favor and subscribe to the YouTube Channel.

An example of a Featured Review Video (#FRYT) is located at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PZ3o-jit160

For an extra $5.00, the video will be shared from YouTube to LinkedIn.

For an extra $20.00, the video will be in an Amy's Bookshelf Reviews blog post, and also be added to the "Featured Video Review" page on Amy's Bookshelf Reviews blog.

Process:

  • Review Request Quick Response (select the option on the Quick Response form)

  • New Review Request (select the optionon the New Review Request form)

  • Express Release Review (at the end of the email type in YouTube Request)

  • Legacy Author Request (in the subject line of the email "Legacy Author" and at the end of the email, type in YouTube Request. 

  • If you have accounts on Twitter or Facebook, let me know what they are, if I don't have that information already. If you order a post on LinkedIn, and have an account, let me know that as well, so we can connect.

Your request will be confirmed by Amy's Bookshelf Reviews before sending any invoice.

Note: If the review has already been posted (no matter the year), the video will be made and uploaded to YouTube within 7 days of receiving the invoice payment.

If the review has yet to be posted, the video review will be uploaded on the day that the review is posted. 

Also, for every 3 book reviews, you can get a fourth video for FREE. (Even if the fourth book is a future book).

​REVIEW TYPE: QUICK RESPONSE (FUTURE Release Dates): ​​

  • MUST be a FUTURE DATE!! (Year ending 2021 or beyond) 

  • Use QUICK RESPONSE Request Form on the Requests & Policies Page

  • Request for QUICK RESPONSE MUST be at least 40 Days (from request date) in advance of the release date! (new authors ONLY)

  • Legacy Authors for QUICK RESPONSE must be at least 30 days in advance (from request date) and send a direct email for the request.

Digital copies (PDF, Audio, email-to-kindle, or Kindle Purchase) of the book must be sent via email within five days of my response to your request. Bookfunnel, Net Galley and Prolific Works downloads are also acceptable, as print books are as well. (Updated 9/4/2021).

​REVIEW TYPE: EXPRESS RELEASE REVIEWS (For both NEW and LEGACY AUTHORS.)

 

Legacy Author (30 days):

  • 29 days – 8 days before release $50 (US)

  • 7 days -- 4 days before release $75 (US)

  • 3 days or less, use the “VIP-IMMEDIATE BOOKSHELF” request ($100 for review within 3 business days)

New Author Request (40 days):

  • 39 days - 8 days before release $50 (US)

  • 7 days -- 4 days before release $75 (US)

  • 3 days or less, use the VIP-IMMEDIATE BOOKSHELF request ($100 for review within 3 business days)

Digital copies (PDF, Audio, email-to-kindle, or Kindle Purchase) of the book must be sent via email within five days of my response to your request. Bookfunnel, Net Galley and Prolific Works downloads are also acceptable, as print books are as well. (Updated 9/4/2021)

Instructions:

To get the EXPRESS RELEASE REVIEW, please follow these steps or it is possible the request would be denied.

  1. Email (do NOT fill out any forms below) writeramyshannon@gmail.com

  2. In subject line "Express Release Review"

  3. In the body of the email, type in this information, and do not add attach anything to the email. Pen name of Author, Book Title, Book Genre, Release date, and where the book will/is listed to be bought.

  • The author will get an email back, so read it carefully, as it will contain instructions as to what the next step for the author will be.

  • Intended for releases that fall under the 40 or 30-day request period (depending on author type) allowed for the regular "QUICK RESPONSE Calendar"

Digital copies (PDF, Audio, email-to-kindle, or Kindle Purchase) of the book must be sent via email within 24 hours of my response to your request. Bookfunnel, Net Galley and Prolific Works downloads are also acceptable, as print books are as well. (Updated 9/4/2021)

REVIEW TYPE: CONSECUTIVE REVIEWS
  • Consecutive reviews are when an author has requested reviews for more than one of their titles.

  • If the request is from a NEW author, the titles are listed in a row on the TRADITIONAL NEW AUTHORS BOOKSHELF, and once the first title is reviewed and posted, the rest of the titles automatically move to the bottom of the VIP-STANDARD NEW AUTHOR BOOKSHELF.

  • If it is a Legacy Author who has given more than one title to be reviewed, the first title is reviewed, and then the subsequent titles go to the bottom of the VIP-STANDARD LEGACY BOOKSHELF. Unless for some exceptions, titles are not reviewed and posted in order.

  • The new CONSECUTIVE REVIEW process will allow for titles to be reviewed and posted consecutively for a donation of $20 for up 4 TITLES for the author.

  • If the author has more than 4 titles, donation cost can be negotiated. If an author already has titles on the BOOKSHELF, they can still use this opportunity.

  • If you're a new author, request formally, and then after confirmation, let me know that you want more than one book reviewed consecutively. You will be given instructions.

  • If you're a Legacy Author, and want to use the consecutive reviews, whether or not you have titles on the VIP-STANDARD NEW AUTHOR BOOKSHELF, or want to send me more than one book, let me know with your email inquiry. I'll give you instructions on what steps to take next.

Digital copies (PDF, Audio, email-to-kindle, or Kindle Purchase) of the book must be sent via email within five days of my response to your request. Bookfunnel, Net Galley and Prolific Works downloads are also acceptable, as print books are as well. (Updated 9/4/2021)

REVIEW TYPE: EARLY RELEASE REVIEWS
  • Use the QUICK RESPONSE form on the Requests Page but select "Early Release" on the Request Type.

Early Reviews are for promotions only. I will not post a review on a book seller's website until the date of the release.

​If you are looking for a review that you can quote and use for promotional reasons, such as inside a book, on the amazon "review" section, front/back cover, and need it earlier, let me know after you receive your initial email. I schedule my reviews to be posted on release date.

​Early Release reviews will be sent to the author no sooner than 30 days prior to release date. If there is a publication deadline for an early release review, I'll accept the request from the publisher and meet the deadline but only if requested by the publisher or agent.

Digital copies (PDF, Audio, email-to-kindle, or Kindle Purchase) of the book must be sent via email within five days of my response to your request. Bookfunnel, Net Galley and Prolific Works downloads are also acceptable, as print books are as well. (Updated 9/4/2021).

REVIEW TYPE: LEGACY AUTHOR REQUEST (VIP-STANDARD LEGACY BOOKSHELF)
  • Use EMAIL only

  • Any author who I have reviewed for in the past is eligible to email me directly at writeramyshannon@gmail.com and put "Legacy Author" in the subject line

Legacy Authors do NOT have to fill out another form or make a request first, just send the files and information I need.

I need the following information (and it is included in the request email response and the emails where the books are sent without a request, which is fine as well)

  • The links to the books (if they are listed on the following sites), amazon.com, barnesandnoble.com, goodreads.com, Smashwords (only if the book is free or has a free discount code), Kobo (US), BookBub, and (if applicable) audiobook link.

  • Reviews will be posted on my Blog. I will share directly from my blog to my Facebook Page (Amy's Bookshelf Reviews), my writer's Facebook page (Amy Shannon), twitter (amyshan_author #ABSR) so if you have a twitter account, let me know, and also shared to LinkedIn. (If you have a LinkedIn Account, feel free to connect.)

  • A favorite link you wish to be connected to your cover once posted on my blog, let me know. If you have your own website or blog, Facebook pages, amazon author page, let me know. If you wish, let me know what year you published your first book, and also what type of publisher (traditional, self, indie, hybrid), publishing company name, and which country you live in.

  • Previously published works, send me the cover, genre, and book title. The title will be added to my VIP-STANDARD LEGACY BOOKSHELF, with the author’s last name in parenthesis.

  • Upcoming releases, give me at least 30 days if you want the review posted on release day, if not, send it whenever you want, and the title will be added to the VIP-STANDARD LEGACY BOOKSHELF

  • Donations can be made for many reasons, including moving up to another shelf or one of the top positions of the VIP-STANDARD LEGACY BOOKSHELF. (See Donation document for more details)

Digital copies (PDF, Audio, email-to-kindle, or Kindle Purchase) of the book must be sent via email within five days of my response to your request. Bookfunnel, Net Galley and Prolific Works downloads are also acceptable, as print books are as well. (Updated 9/4/2021)

VIP-STANDARD NEW AUTHOR BOOKSHELF

There is a new shelf and shelves are no longer separated. This shelf is for new author requests, where they give a donation to not be on the TRADITIONAL NEW AUTHORS BOOKSHELF. The move to the shelf is a $25 donation. A move to the shelf with multiple titles is $30.

The VIP-STANDARD NEW AUTHOR BOOKSHELF is also for a new representative sending an author to Amy’s Bookshelf Reviews for the first time. Or a “repeat” representative, sending a “new author.”

Digital copies (PDF, Audio, email-to-kindle, or Kindle Purchase) of the book must be sent via email within five days of my response to your request. Bookfunnel, Net Galley and Prolific Works downloads are also acceptable, as print books are as well. (Updated 9/4/2021)

REVIEW TYPE: REPOSTING REVIEWS:

I do repost reviews or update reviews or add previously posted reviews to new sites where the book title is listed. (There is a new shelf specific for reposting reviews)

  • If a title has changed or the cover has changed, or the book is being re-released.

  • If the story has changed or has been dramatically updated, I will gladly reread the story, and update the previous review, if necessary.

  • If the story is being rereleased, and has been updated, and has a new “buy link,” I will gladly reread the book, and post the new review.

  • If the book is being released in a new format, especially an audiobook, I would like to listen to the book, and write a review to reflect not just the story but the audiobook itself.

  • Any requests for reposts can be made by emailing me directly.

CONTACT ME

If you just need to make contact, have a special request, or have some questions about anything on my blog, use the Contact Me form on my FAQ Page. ​

​ REVIEW TYPE: NEW REQUESTS (NEW AUTHORS BOOKSHELF)
  • New Requests (TRADITIONAL NEW AUTHORS BOOKSHELF) is for both Indie and traditional published authors.

  • Representatives can fill out form, if the representative is "new" to this site 

  • All requests will be followed up with an instructional email.

  • Please ONLY one request per Author (this for authors with more than one book, or co-authors)

  • Authors that have more than one book can send the others AFTER the first requested title has been reviewed and posted.

  • Unless another option is selected, all new requests that are accepted will go to the end of the TRADITIONAL NEW AUTHORS BOOKSHELF.

Digital copies (PDF, Audio, email-to-kindle, or Kindle Purchase) of the book must be sent via email within five days of my response to your request. Bookfunnel, Net Galley and Prolific Works downloads are also acceptable, as print books are as well. (Updated 9/4/2021)

Fill out the “New Requests” Form below.

For Authors that are new to this site, and do not qualify for other request types.

​REVIEW TYPE: OTHER BOOK REVIEW REQUEST OPTIONS

​There are other options to be on different bookshelves of a higher or priority level. (See Donation document for more details)

Donations no matter the amount DO NOT BUY or PAY FOR REVIEWS. The reviews are honest and unbiased, and based on what I read. The donations pay for a position on the BOOKSHELF, ARE FOR BUYING AN AUTHOR’S BOOK OR PAYING IT FORWARD TO PAY FOR ANOTHER AUTHOR’S TITLE.

DO NOT SEND ANY MONEY WHEN SELECTING THIS OPTION AND MAKING YOUR REQUEST, UNTIL INSTRUCTED TO DO SO. I NEED TO FORMALLY ACCEPT YOUR REQUEST.

BOOKS THAT ARE NOT ACCEPTED:

I will no longer review books that are "unpublished" or as an "early manuscript. "Unpublish" refers to a book that has no date or plans in the future to be released, as the author just wants to see if it is worth publishing. If the book doesn't not have a release date, or even just a release month, then I will not review it (Unless the author is using my editing or editorial review services on my other blog at https://writeramyshannon.wixsite.com/amyshannonblog/services

 

If by the time I am ready to post my review, the book is unavailable, out of print, or not published, I will not post my review. Only when it has a date, I will post it.

Digital copies (PDF, Audio, email-to-kindle, or Kindle Purchase) of the book must be sent via email within five days of my response to your request. Bookfunnel, Net Galley and Prolific Works downloads are also acceptable, as print books are as well. (Updated 9/4/2021)

​​CURRENT EXCEPTIONS: 
  • Guests of the PODCAST “The After Show with McKensie Stewart and Amy Shannon” or “After The After Show” will automatically get a review of their work, if they haven’t had their book reviewed by Amy’s Bookshelf Reviews, priority to its airing. (A review ahead of time does not change the guest fee for either podcast).

  • Blog Tours. Blog Tours where my OFFICIAL author Blog participates, offers to review the book being promoted, and its review on both blogs. (Blog Tour requests can be emailed to me directly).

  • Purchased blog Tours or promotions from my other business, Genesis Book Promotions & Blog Tours

Also, please make sure you read all of the requirements of a book review request before filling out a form.

Please read before submitting request with the appropriate form. 

STEPS FOR A REQUEST:
  1. Please fill out the appropriate form, answering all the questions accurately. (check for typos before sending)

  2. There will be a response to the request within 48 hours. You will receive an initial email, and an excel spreadsheet attachment. The spreadsheet must be filled out and returned with the other requested files. 

Failure to conform to the form or the review policy will result in DENIAL OF REQUEST, so please read the form questions and the review policy carefully. This goes for any email received by me. I use a preset email format that I created but the text of those emails may change at any time, so read each email you get from me carefully. You never know when something was added or changed.

REVIEW POLICY 
​ REVIEW REQUEST TYPE: INITIAL AUTHOR REQUESTS
  • Must use the CORRECT form to request a review. (If you don’t, I’ll request that you do before moving forward)

  • ALL first-time requests MUST be made via the request form (No matter where you heard of my reviews. Fill out the form and answer all required questions.)

  • Whether you are new to this site, or a Legacy Author, always read the policies before filling out one of the forms. 

  • Unsolicited direct emails to me will be given instructions to fill out an official form.

​​​​

​ REVIEW REQUEST TYPE: LEGACY AUTHORS OR LEGACY AUTHOR REPRESENTATIVE
  • If I have reviewed other books for you or you're an author's representative who has made contact with me before, then you can email me directly at writeramyshannon@gmail.com

  • I do NOT take unsolicited (direct email) review requests from authors, unless I have reviewed their work before or reviewed work from an author under a specific representative.

 

MY REVIEWS:
  • This is a United States-Based Review Blog.

  • I review ALL genres and accept requests from any author (indie or traditionally published) or author representative (publisher, agent, assistant etc.) (please clarify).

  • I can only review books written in ENGLISH (or for audio books, narrated in English). 

  • I also share the review from my blog to my Amy’s Bookshelf Reviews and my other Amy Shannon Facebook page. 

  • I also share the review from this blog on Twitter (#ABSR, @amyshan_author).

  • I also share the review from my blog on LinkedIn

  • If an author has an Instagram account, I will share the review on Instagram.

 
Do’s and Don’ts.
DO:

Send Book FRONT Cover images

  • IMAGE FORMATS: jpg, or png

  • Front cover of book ONLY

  • Make sure the image has its title in its name

  • If you don't send it, I'll download a cover from one of the book site listings.

Send Books

​​Book formats:   DO NOT SEND MORE THAN ONE OF THE SAME TITLE DIGITALLY (ONLY SEND ONE FORMAT OF DIGITAL COPY). WILL ACCEPT DIGITAL ALONG WITH EITHER A PRINT COPY OR DONATION/GIFT TO PURCHASE A COPY. 

  • Print (hardcover/paperback) (NOT typed manuscripts (mailed or shipped to me) (address provided upon request) [I'd be honored if the copy of the print book was signed, but it isn't necessary.]

  • A Digital copy of the book. (Updated 9/4/2021)

    • PDF (Acrobat Reader)

    • Email to kindle

    • Kindle Purchase

    • Bookfunnel download

    • Net Galley Download

    • Prolific Works download 

  • Gifts/Gift Cards/Coupon codes

    • Smashwords: coupon code for free title

    • (US) Amazon gift card

  • Donation purchase (See Donation document for more details)

    • Let me know if you are using this option. Not all donations are used for a specific book purchase, but for any book purchase to make them verified.

  • Audio Books (must send as gift or with audible.com code) or other audiobook site.

​Excel Spreadsheet

  • I send an MS Excel spreadsheet with my initial email, send it back with all the required files. (A copy of it is at the top of the page)

  • Do NOT change anything in the spreadsheet, just follow the instructions given.

  • If you have an issue with the spreadsheet, I also have a text version I can copy and paste into the body of the email. (I can accept MAC "Numbers" files, as I use a converter).

Don't: 

  • Don't send me anything until I ask for it (including donations). YOU WILL GET AN EMAIL RESPONSE. Make sure you check your SPAM folder from an email from writeramyshannon@gmail.com and add it to your safe-senders list.

  • I NO LONGER will accept Gifted Books through Amazon (It does not count as a verified review if the book itself is gifted). A gift card for the purchase of the book will suffice.

  • Don't send anything I don't ask for, such as advertisements, fliers, author bios, author pics, etc...

  • Don't send incorrect format of image files such as PDF of complete covers

  • Don't lie or misrepresent yourself, or lie about a release date (I verify all information)

  • Don't send "proof" copy of print book

  • Don’t send a computer printed manuscript when sending a print copy. It must be in a book format.

  • Do not send mobi or ePub files, or word processing copies of the book.

​​AMY'S LIBRARY BOOKSHELVES Title positions:

All books to be reviewed are listed on my AMY'S LIBRARY page. Authors can use this page to keep track of the position of their title. It is not necessary to contact me to find out when their book will be reviewed. This BOOKSHELVES are constantly being updated as more reviews are being posted. There is only one reader and reviewer associated with this blog. (All titles on the BOOSHELVES have the author’s last name in parentheses,)

NOTE FOR FORMS: PLEASE READ EACH QUESTION CAREFULLY BEFORE ANSWERING. ANY FORM NOT FILLED OUT APPROPRIATELY AND ACCURATELY WILL BE DENIED

Just have a question or comment? Email me directly at writeramyshannon@gmail.com

QUICK RESPONSE

Only use the QUICK RESPONSE Request form if you have an UPCOMING RELEASE DATE and want a review posted on that date. Do NOT use this form for an express release, follow the instructions above.

  • Release date must be at least the YEAR ENDING IN AT LEAST 2021 or higher.

  • When filling out the form, do not use all caps. Use proper sentence case.

  • ​Even if you have multiple books, only request for one of the books. You can add books at a later time.

  • ​I validate all release dates, so be sure to be accurate.

  • Do not add URLS or website links of any kind in any of the fields.

  • Don't send me anything until I ask for it. YOU WILL GET AN EMAIL RESPONSE. Make sure you check your SPAM folder from an email from writeramyshannon@gmail.com and add it to your safe-senders list.

  • Once the initial email is sent, please send the required files within 5 days of that initial email.

​Any form that does not follow the requirements, will be returned to the author.

NEW REQUEST FORM

This form is for all authors who have NEVER received a review from Amy's Bookshelf Reviews.  Once the request has been approved, the title will be added to the end of the TRADITIONAL NEW AUTHORS BOOKSHELF.

​Cutting the line: (Getting on a higher shelf) (See Donation document for more details)

​​There is no specific turn-around time for reviews, as I do schedule them so the posting will abide by Amazon.com rules. A note, though, that any book that I purchase (from my donation account) makes the book a verified purchase. Reviews can be posted with or without being a verified purchase. 

​​​Double check your email address, as that is the only way I can contact you. I've gotten undeliverable emails because of typos in the email address field. 

QUICK RESPONSE REQUESTS
(future RELEASE DAY REVIEWS)

 

New review request