top of page
  • Writer's pictureABSR

The Passing of the Night by Joanne Van Leerdam

5 Stars

Magnificent

The book intrigued me when the author was nominated for one of my Best Indie Titles of 2017 awards on my author blog, and the author was nice enough

to share the story with me for a review. I read Van Leerdam's "Nova" which also is a book of poetry, and I immediately became a fan. I had this book waiting for me, so I jumped right in as soon as I finished "Nova". Now, like "Nova" it has a title poem "The Passing of the Night". The title and the title poem works for this collection. Each poem is an individual poem, and yet, there is a connection, more than the same poet. Beautifully written poems with lyrical prose, but not "sing-song", just magnificence of penning emotions, observations, within her soul. The flame seems to bring a major part to the settings, as it can bring light to darkness, and flicker with brightness and clarity. One of my favorites is "Tainted", as I read it several times. I am sure to read more of her work.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page