top of page
  • Writer's pictureABSR

Alina: A Song for the Telling by Malve von Hassell

5 Stars


A compelling story


von Hassell pens an intriguing and compelling young adult historical story in Alina: A Song for the Telling. I haven't read anything from this author before, and I really enjoyed it. This book wasn't just words on a page that told a story, it was an adventure for the reader to be fully immersed into this story. It may have been written for young adults, and maybe younger, but this adult really loved this story. Alina believed in herself when no one else did, living with her strict and oppressive, thinking that Alina must marry to get anywhere in life. Alina had not just the music in her heart but in her soul, which leaped off the pages. The story brings Alina into a world that she had not expected, and she still feels the need to protect and take care of her brother, Milos. Alina tells her story grandly, and some things just resonate with the reader. "Unhappy, I arranged my lute next to the stool where I usually sat. For a while I just plucked and strummed without singing, which gave me time to collect myself..." An inspiring story. The title drew me in, but the story made me stay. The author's technique of intense characters and great plotlines is a gift. It's a great story to follow and try to figure out what will happen next. Almost magical and yet soulful! Alina: A Song for the Telling is a definite recommendation by Amy's Bookshelf Reviews. I look forward to reading many more stories by this author.






0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page