top of page
  • Writer's pictureABSR

Heart Fever by Bob Van Laerhoven

5 Stars


Dark and alluring stories


Van Laerhoven pens a wonderfully dark collection of stories in Heart Fever. It was supposed to be a collection, and I take that it was, just not the type that I may be used to, but with that aside, it was definitely an amazing read. I haven't read anything from this author before, and I really enjoyed each one. The characters were quite that, characters, among the dark and dingy, aggressive, and yes, almost inhuman. "Before I lost my arm and chunks of my legs, I liked to look in mirrors and see the monstrous strength in my pectorals, my shoulders, my torso, my legs, my arms. Mirrors defined me. I also liked ramming people’s faces into mirrors, spattering blood, glass and tissue..." This author is not just a writer but a great storyteller. Van Laerhoven has quite the imagination, and the words he put together are just thrilling, and very chilling. The title drew me in, but the stories made me stay, just one of those that you can't miss a word or you'll miss something important to the story. I have fast become a big fan of Van Laerhoven. I look forward to reading many more stories by this author. This book is a definite recommendation by Amy's Bookshelf Reviews.






0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page