top of page
  • Writer's pictureABSR

Jan Notzon - Only The Dead (Know the End of War)

5 Stars


Magnificent read!!!


What a powerful and realistic story in Only The Dead (Know the End of War) by Jan Notzon. This is the second book of this author that I have read, and I have just become a fan. I want to read more from Notzon. The characters were historically correct, and very real, and full of depth. This is a time and place that many might not really know about, and this book, though it was a story, it taught me a lot. I love it when I can read something I am enjoying and also learn from it. It's a two for one for me. Anyway, this story brings the reader back to the early 19th century, when Texas and Mexico both had republics, and seems to be fighting for a separation, as well as survival. Not just of their lives, but their own culture, and against a system that could make or break the expansion of the United States, such that it was. It was both a heart breaking, and emotionally charged story, with perspectives on all sides of the power, and the entrance of a brutal war. This book deserves a second read! (and maybe more). It is a very well-written plot, and I enjoyed it. It’s one of those embraceable stories. It’s definitely un-put-downable! I read the book as slow as I could, and then I went back to my notes, and the page I marked, spoke to me, so here is something that I feel shows one of the layers of the story. "Of course, we did it in our own self-interests, but in doing so, we've created wealth that has been invested and spawned other concerns that likewise have provided employment and hope to so many - even those who perennially excluded from such opportunities. And now, because of the accident of our birth, and simple envy, the country will destroy such promise ..." Masterfully written! Only The Dead (Know the End of War) is a definite recommendation by Amy's Bookshelf Reviews. I look forward to reading many more books by this author.







0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page