top of page
  • Writer's pictureABSR

Jessica Herthel and Jazz Jennings - I Am Jazz

Jessica Herthel and Jazz Jennings - I Am Jazz Shelagh McNicholas (Illustrator)


5 Stars


A brave and smart young transgender girl


What a remarkably brave story in I Am Jazz by Jessica Herthel and Jazz Jennings, and illustrated by Shelagh McNicholas. Jazz was, as she says, "I have a girl brain but a boy body. This is called transgender. I was born this way!" She seemed to know who she was since she was little, correcting people if they called her a boy. Unfortunately, her parents only let her wear dresses around the house, but had to be a "boy" in public. Eventually, her parents finally understood her, and let her be herself. She became Jazz. This is an amazing story of someone who knew who she was, even if her body didn't. I applaud this child, and am totally shocked at how this could be on a banned book list. If more people read this story, and had an open mind, many children wouldn't feel like they have to hide. I Am Jazz is a definite recommendation by Amy's Bookshelf Reviews. This book is on a list of banned books. After you read the book, visit Trans Kids Purple Rainbow Foundation for more information.









Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page