top of page
  • Writer's pictureABSR

Steve Shear - The Vase of Many Colors

4 Stars


Wonderfully complex story


Shear pens a complex story in The Vase of Many Colors. This author brings the story to life. The characters had a lot of depth and were very realistic. I read a lot of stories, and I love the different writing styles and storytelling abilities. The story is written in three parts, and each one lends to another generation of faith, and faithlessness, but also respect and the love and treatment of family. The story is narrated in first person, well for most of it, but it is important to read book one-chapter one to get the sense of what is important, at least to "Father." The first part of the story shows the story of Ira's parents, and their family. A very faithful Jewish family. Well, there was that hint of atheism that still lingered in Ira's father, and how his mother, grew up in Jerusalem (with long hair was a large part of her rebellion). It was an interesting story, and I felt it sometimes a bit formal, but I think that is how it is supposed to be. It is a very well-written story, and I enjoyed it. It was interesting how Ira was raised, and how he did his best to rebel, but be respectful to his parents as well. The second part was an engaging story that revolved around Ira's wife, Natalie, and her family. It was interesting to see how Ira described Natalie's story, and it worked. There was a lot of information, and stories about both Ira's family, past and present, and Natalie's story. The third part was Ira's remarkable journey, his own book, The First Coming, and the trouble it caused both Ira and Natalie. Even though Ira seemed to be leaning toward atheism, he did not discount anyone else's faith. It is a very well-written story, and I enjoyed it. Definitely an unpredictable story, my favorite kind! I really like generational stories. The Vase of Many Colors is a definite recommendation by Amy's Bookshelf Reviews. I look forward to reading many more stories by this author. I read this book and give my honest and unbiased review.







0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page