top of page
  • Writer's pictureABSR

The Ack-Ack Girl by Chris Karlsen

5 Stars


Wonderful Read


Karlsen pens an interesting WWII story in The Ack-Ack Girl. I haven't read anything from this author before, and I really enjoyed it. The title really drew me in as I wasn't sure of what "Ack-Ack" meant, until I read the first chapter. Karlsen brings the characters to life, and brings the reader in from the beginning. Ava is a unique character, not just glad that she's surviving, but there is that linger guilt from surviving. In the first chapter, Karlsen writes, "The first explosion sounded from across the river, many blocks away. Ava closed her eyes and whispered, “Thank you.” A wave of guilt hit her. Part of the city was destroyed. Londoners were dying while she gave thanks. But she was grateful." This paragraph seem to set the theme for the story ahead. This book deserves a second read! (and maybe more). A very well-written story, and I enjoyed it. This story was intriguing and in some ways, inspiring, and kept the reader guessing. It's a great story to follow and try to figure out what will happen next. This author's characters develop and interacts well with the other characters. I have fast become a big fan of Karlsen. I look forward to reading many more stories by this author. This book is a definite recommendation by Amy's Bookshelf Reviews.







1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page