top of page
  • Writer's pictureABSR

The Fountain of Youth by Steve Shear

5 Stars


A remarkably written story!


What a powerful, emotional and remarkable story in The Fountain of Youth by Steve Shear. I am a big fan of this author! Whatever this author writes, I read. I love it when a Legacy author sends me more of their work! A family stuck with generations of dementia, and how it not just allows the one with it to suffer without dignity, but the family around them, dealing with the slow loss of their family member. There is always that fear that it will happen to them as well. And the words that resonated with me, were of a child after the loss of his mother, "“I will choose the time. I will choose the time. Not God or any power outside my control!” And "Fountain of Youth” is a senior living facility. Now, here is a tale that brings raw emotions, reminded this reader who lost a grandmother to dementia, and watching her suffer with memories of an abusive childhood. I get this story and see why it is so important for others to read it. There is a sense of not giving up, but continuing on to life, and all its secrets. I find it interesting that Robert uses his son's sixth grade quiz book, and it is important to him, but he keeps that his secret. And then, there are the other residents with Robert, and even rumors of one being a Nazi in hiding. I really enjoyed the read. The emotions and passion that was put into writing this, shows. A very impressively written story. The Fountain of Youth is a definite recommendation by Amy's Bookshelf Reviews. I look forward to reading many more stories by this author.






0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page