top of page
  • Writer's pictureABSR

The Ignorance of Bliss: An American Kid in Saigon by Sandy Hanna

5 Stars


Remarkable, heart-pounding story


Hanna pens a magnificently real story in The Ignorance of Bliss: An American Kid in Saigon. I haven't read anything from this author before, and I really, really, (did I say really) enjoyed it. First, it was written very well, and told a raw and intense story. Saigon in the 60s, what an era of survival and poverty. Hanna tells a real story, and how to survive in a foreign world in that era. The details and storytelling were incredible, and it felt real. It was a journey of sorts, not just about her "blissful" life of school and dances, but spies and corruption, to say the least. Magnificent story, kept this reader turning the pages. A definite attention grabber. The thrills and intrigue is written clearly and the characterizations are engrossing. The title drew me in, but the story made me stay. Hanna has a way with the important details and even on an emotional level. I look forward to reading more by this author. This book is a definite recommendation by Amy's Bookshelf Reviews.






0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page