top of page
  • Writer's pictureABSR

The Vagina Monologues by Eve Ensler (Now referred to as V)

5 Stars


The era of the woman


Ensler pens a remarkable title in The Vagina Monologues (TVM). This is the first book of this author's that I've read. I actually had heard of the play TVM but never thought about it. I didn't quite know what to expect, but when I was watching a show (Little Fires Everywhere), the book club that met on the show was discussing this book. The interesting thing about this is that all women have one, but some don't pay much attention to how much it is a part of them. This book shares stories and interviews of thousands of women over the course of many years and international trips. I am not easy to embarrass, and this book was so interesting, and it discussed so many things, from rape and abuse, to female "circumcision" (Yes, that is a thing and some cultures still do it, even though it is a form of torture and pain.) I recommend that everyone should read this book, no matter the gender type or even sexual orientation. It can change the way people think about each other, their mate or companion, and even themselves. It gave me inspiration in a way I never thought. It gives women empowerment, and no matter the era, this book should be read by past, present and future generations. Now, I can't wait to watch TVM which is On-demand locally to me. I look forward to reading more by this author. This book is a definite recommendation by Amy's Bookshelf Reviews.





0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page