top of page
  • Amy's Bookshelf Reviews

Author Interview: Chantelle Atkins


Q: In one sentence, tell me something that describes you as a person?

A dreamer

Q: How many books have you written? How many of those are published?

Four novels and one short story collection are all published. I have written two more books, one is in the final draft stage, and the other is in the first draft stage.

Q: Do you have an upcoming release? If yes, tell me the title and impending release date.

My next release will be a YA novel called The Tree Of Rebels but I don't have a release date yet.

Q: If you could “create” your own genre of what you write, what would you call your books?

Character driven

Q: Without quoting your back cover synopsis, tell me about the last book you published.

The last novel was the sequel to The Boy With The Thorn In His Side. It's called This Is The Day and picks up the story where the first book ends. It's about the main character Danny's attempts to rebuild his life after a stint in prison for committing a brutal crime as a teenager. It has the same characters in it, and all have their own stories and struggles. Each chapter is from a different character's point of view. It's a story about regret, forgiveness and proving people wrong.

Q: Tell me something about yourself that is separate from writing.

I'm a keen gardener, trying to be as self-sufficient as possible.

Q: Who is your favorite Author?

Charles Bukowski

Q: What is the last book that you read? (Not counting anything you wrote)

Down The Tubes by Kate Rigby

Q: When writing, do you have a system or something you plan, or do you just write?

I write notes and ideas in a notebook when they have got too big and noisy to contain in my head. I can't usually start the book, as I'm always working on another one. But I will write dialogue, characters and ideas for the plot just so I don't lose anything. By the time I get around to the book in question, the notebook will be quite full, and I will know a lot about the story and the characters. Of course, there will be surprises and twists along the way, things that evolve naturally as I write it. Usually I get ideas when I am walking my dogs, as that's when my mind has the chance to clear out and calm down. Instantly then it will fill with voices and ideas, that I will have to write down as soon as I get home. The notebook accompanies the progress of the book. It will get more organised as I go along, with a timeline and bits of research and character bio's popping up, plus I will make notes about things to look at and revise or add in the second draft and so on.

Q: Why do you write?

Because I have to! Initially I think being an avid reader made me want to write. I devoured books as a child and lost myself in these other worlds, making friends with characters I wished were real. I think once I was old enough to realise writing could do the exact same thing, only I would be in control, I was hooked. It has total control of me and occupies most of my time, life and thoughts. I wouldn't have it any other way though. I feel privileged to have so much stuff inside me.

Any final thoughts that you want to give to your fans or even future authors?

Just that writing is really important. It helps us make sense of the world and of ourselves. It makes us feel better and more alive. I think everyone should write, even if it is just for themselves. Write and keep writing.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page