top of page
  • Amy's Bookshelf Reviews

Featured Author: Lynn Thompson


Q: In one sentence, tell me something that describes you as a person?

A: I'm a nature freak.

Q: How many books have you written? How many of those are published?

A: I've written two novels and three short story books. Blake-A Montana Dayton Novel, Sterling-A Montana Dayton Novel, Dark Fates, Dark Fates-Madness, and News Worthy. They are all published.

Q: Do you have an upcoming release? If yes, tell me the title and impending release date.

A: Yes, I'm working on a YA novel right now. Samantha Sungold-Tarnished Gold. Sam was first introduced in Sterling and she felt she needed her own story. Who am I to say no? My goal is to have the book published the later months of 2016 or early 2017.

Q: If you could “create” your own genre of what you write, what would you call your books?

A: Ha, ha:) Lynn's genre? #alittbitofalsmosteverything. I have a hard time sticking with on genre.

Q: Without quoting your back cover synopsis, tell me about the last book you published.

A: My last published book is Dark Fates-Madness. We've had several instances of teen violence and suicides in our town. The sadness in my heart for these unfortunate souls took over and I needed to write about it to get some of that sadness out of my system.

Madness has four short stories in it and is full of teenage angst, horror, ghosts, supernatural, and paranormal. It leans more to the dark side than Dark Fates.

One Way Ticket is Tyra's worst nightmare. Her psychic abilities work against her to the point that she starts going crazy. She doesn't know where to turn to fix her problem.

Jade doesn't fair so well in Teen Spirit. The pact she made with her friends is broken and she can't seem to convince her friends to mend it. She doesn't want to be alone for the rest of forever.

Calla can't figure out how to get out of her worst nightmare in Calla Crossing. She makes a choice, the only choice she feels that she has. It doesn't work out to well for her.

Zack has better luck with solving his issues in Zack's Promise, but it will take all of Zack's willpower to get past his depression and bad memories.

Q: Tell me something about yourself that is separate from writing.

A: I'm a nature freak:) I go out and lose myself in nature at least once a week. My last serious outing was a twelve and a half mile hike. Now I have to figure out how to break that record in one day. Oh, and where to go to do it.

Q: Who is your favorite Author?

A: There is more than one. My top four are Stephen King, Kelly Armstrong, Karen Marie Moning, and Janna DeLeon.

Q: What is the last book that you read? (Not counting anything you wrote)

A: Buried by C.J. Carmichael-Twisted Cedar Mysteries. I highly recommend it.

Q: When writing, do you have a system or something you plan, or do you just write?

A: I always start with a system. Unfortunately, my characters don't stick with it. They have their own plans, so I end up just writing.

Q: Why do you write?

A: It's my passion and my escape from reality.

Q: Any final thoughts that you want to give to your fans or even future authors?

A: For fans: I love reading everything entertaining and I love being able to entertain and coax readers into a different reality.

For most author's I think writing comes naturally. It's everything else you have to do to get your books published that is work.

Follow Lynn on Twitter @lynnthompson8

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page