top of page
  • Amy's Bookshelf Reviews

Featured Author: Kristin Dow


Q: In one sentence, tell me something that describes you as a person?

A: I'm a recovering A-type who has learned the value of stepping out of one's comfort zone, to always push yourself to experience new things and places.

Q: How many books have you written? How many of those are published?

A: I've written two novels, LIBERTY & MEANS and UNBRIDLED HOLIDAY. They are both available on Amazon.

Q: Do you have an upcoming release? If yes, tell me the title and impending release date.

A: I'm currently working on my third novel about the lives of former TV icons, title and release pending.

Q: If you could “create” your own genre of what you write, what would you call your books?

A: Identity tweaking. The common theme of what I write always has to do with reshaping one's identity.

Q: Without quoting your back cover synopsis, tell me about the last book you published.

A: LIBERTY & MEANS starts out with a nod to mysteries, but it soon takes a turn and is ultimately a story about money, love, and a fractured family. Shannon Clark is not your typical chick-lit heroine; she's a bit buttoned-up and as you learn more about her past, you see why. How Shannon evolves is a crucial element to the story, but she's always true to herself. And as she handles the complications that come her way,both the good and the bad, that authenticity becomes even more valuable. Readers have liked it for its unique elements, plot twists, and the mix of comedy and heartache.

Q: Tell me something about yourself that is separate from writing.

A: My idea of a good time is a relaxing meal served with a glass of wine.

Q: Who is your favorite Author?

A: Jane Austen tops the list. I also admire Peter Mayle, Jojo Moyes, Liane Moriarty, Kathleen Tessaro, Kate Muir, Elisabeth Egan, and B.A. Shapiro.

Q: What is the last book that you read? (Not counting anything you wrote)

A: Recent reads include: The Red Notebook, The Bronte Plot, The Last Anniversary, and Bricking It. I always make a point to leave thoughtful reviews on Goodreads.

Q: When writing, do you have a system or something you plan, or do you just write?

A: I usually do best in the mornings with a fresh mind, but with a young child, I try to squeeze it in whenever I can. Next year will be my first with full-day school hours so I daydream about becoming a writing machine at that time. I'll have no more excuses.

Q: Why do you write?

A: After graduating college, I felt very vanilla and lost. That's when my inner writer came out. I've been writing ever since and despite all the online job searches I've done to find something else that's lucrative and yields more immediate results, I always come back to it. Writing just fits and I love it.

Q: Any final thoughts that you want to give to your fans or even future authors?

A: For fans, always a big thank you for reading my work! Time is precious and there's a lot of ways to spend it so I always appreciate the chance to come into your world for a bit. For future authors: you will be tested along the way and tempted to give up many times. Stick with it, always try to improve, and make the time for it.


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page