top of page
  • Amy's Bookshelf Reviews

Featured Author: Kelly St. Clare


Q: In one sentence, tell me something that describes you as a person?

A: Mmmbop, ba duba dop, ba dooo bop, shina bop bop, doooo wop, ba duba dop, ba doooo, yeah-eh-yeah-ah (or whatever those Hanson lyrics are).

Q: How many books have you written? How many of those are published?

A: Five so far. Four of them are published. And I’m halfway through writing a novella, too.

Q: Do you have an upcoming release? If yes, tell me the title and impending release date.

A: My next release is Fantasy of Freedom, the fourth—and last—book in The Tainted Accords (I’m so sad to be finishing this series!). It comes out October 10th this year. I’ve just released the first in my new series in August. I’d use the word hectic to describe my life at the moment J

Q: If you could “create” your own genre of what you write, what would you call your books?

A: I find it so hard to categorize my books because I pull from so many different genres at once. I would call the genre ‘mostly fantasy with a little sci-fi, dystopian, action, adventure, and oodles of kickass’ —MFLSDAAOK for short. It’d be a hit.

Q: Without quoting your back cover synopsis, tell me about the last book you published.

A: The Retreat. Eep! It was so exciting to write. It is set in a world where Global Warming Hhas destroyed Planet Earth, and four thousand genetically enhanced humans have taken to outer space in order to preserve the human race. Except it’s not that simple. Especially when my main character, Romy, and her four friends crash-land on the supposedly unlivable Earth. Add in a healthy dose of betrayal, shock revelations, changing relationships, action, and humor, and you have The Retreat.

Q: Tell me something about yourself that is separate from writing.

A: I want a kitten for Christmas (and hope my husband reads this).

Q: Who is your favorite Author?

A: That’s like trying to pick which limb I’d be happiest to lose.

Q: What is the last book that you read? (Not counting anything you wrote)

A: The Black Mage series by Rachel E. Carter. Absolutely recommend. I pulled an all-nighter to finish them all. Worth it!

Q: When writing, do you have a system or something you plan, or do you just write?

A: I plan a bit. I write out a brief chapter-by-chapter guide. I do whatever research is necessary, too. But most of my writing is ‘pantsing’, going with the flow and experiencing the story for the first time alongside my characters. It keeps the excitement there for me.

Q: Why do you write?

A: Why do I breathe?

Q: Any final thoughts that you want to give to your fans or even future authors?

A: To aspiring authors: Don’t write a first draft for anyone other than yourself. Follow on drafts? Well, then you can think about your audience then.

To my readers: Sometimes I think I might be sorry for my cliff-hangers, but then I realize I’m not and I just needed more caffeine. #sorrynotsorry

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page