top of page
  • Amy's Bookshelf Reviews

Featured Author: Marjorie Hembroff


Q: In one sentence, tell me something that describes you as a person?

A: I am a creative person who loves reading, writing, gardening and drawing and painting.

Q: How many books have you written? How many of those are published?

A: I have several projects that are in various stages. I have published a historical middle grade novel titled Bess’s Magical Garden.

Q: Do you have an upcoming release? If yes, tell me the title and impending release date.

A: I am in the process of publishing a picture book Gramma Mouse Tells a Story. I am publishing with assisted self-publishing with Tellwell Publishing. I don’t have an exact date but it should be out in the fall.

Q: If you could “create” your own genre of what you write, what would you call your books?

A:

Q: Without quoting your back cover synopsis, tell me about the last book you published.

A: It is a story about a courageous girl who bravely faces the future without her father and moving to a new home in a small town. Her best friend, Megan, is left behind and she misses her. At her mother’s suggestion she writes regular letters to her. The first night at their new home Bess hears whispers in the middle of the night and sees a ghostly figure in the garden. Clues turn up in the garden and from unexpected sources. Bess is intrigued by the clues and is determined to solve the mystery.

Q: Tell me something about yourself that is separate from writing.

A: I am retired and live in the scenic town of Strathmore, Alberta, Canada. I love animals and own a cat and dog. When I’m not writing I like to read, sketch and paint. I work in the garden and look after the hall rentals in The Happy Gang facilities here in Strathmore.

Q: Who is your favorite Author?

A: My favorite Child hood author was LM Montgomery the author of The Anne of Green Gables series. I read such a wide variety of books that it is hard to pick a favorite. I have read the Harry Potter Series and am reading the Outlander series. I also liked Gone with the Wind.

Q: What is the last book that you read? (Not counting anything you wrote)

A: Timothy Other ---the boy who climbed Marzipan Mountain by L. Sidney Abel

Q: When writing, do you have a system or something you plan, or do you just write?

A: No, I don’t have a system. I just sit down and write.

Q: Why do you write?

A: I write to fulfil an inner need. It is a must do, not a want to. There is an inner force that urges me to write. A lot of emotions that would stay buried inside come out when I write.

Q: Any final thoughts that you want to give to your fans or even future authors?

A: Follow your dreams whether big or small. Always believe in yourself.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page