top of page
  • Amy's Bookshelf Reviews

Featured Author: Rita Hestand


Q: In one sentence, tell me something that describes you as a person?

A: I'm quite the hermit, but I enjoy watching people at the malls and talking to people at the strangest places, a bus stop, in front of a theater, any place, any time.

Q: How many books have you written? How many of those are published?

A: I have 64 novels written and published, 11 short stories for kids, 5 boxsets for series, 4 adult short stories, and three stories in anthologies by another publisher. I have approx. three books I never published, they simply were not good enough. I am now self-published with all my books.

Q: Do you have an upcoming release? If yes, tell me the title and impending release date.

A: My next release will be "An Unexpected Welcome", a western romance, part of the Brides of the West series. It releases Sept. 30, 2016

Q: If you could “create” your own genre of what you write, what would you call your books?

A: Romances of Many Flavors, because I write about different kinds of love and how people find it.

Q: Without quoting your back cover synopsis, tell me about the last book you published.

A: The last one I finished and published but is not out yet is Maggie's Dreams. It is the final book of the Red River Bride Series. Maggie has her cap set for the Mayor, but realizes too late that he wants to pick and choose her friends, and her black friend, Nadine, does not fit into his lifestyle. Her attraction for her bodyguard, Dakota an Indian will put her at risk for ridicule and hate. But true love always finds a way. It is his sincere desire to protect her that steals her heart, for Maggie has been abused by her own family and what she seeks in life is the feeling of being safe. Nowhere on earth is she as safe as in Dakota's arms. Will their love withstand all the problems it brings and instill the trust she's always sought? Is she willing to risk everything for Dakota's love?

True love always has a price, if one is willing to risk it!

Q: Tell me something about yourself that is separate from writing.

A: I love to hang out with my grandkids, go bowling, listen to music and watch old movies. I study the writing of John Meston, (writer and script writer for Gunsmoke).

Q: Who is your favorite Author?

A: I love Harper Lee's, "To Kill a Mockingbird". Such simplicity and characterization is to be admired by all. Making something look and sound easy is a rare talent.

Q: What is the last book that you read? (Not counting anything you wrote)

A: The Shack

Q: When writing, do you have a system or something you plan, or do you just write?

A: I find covers give me the inspiration I need to create the whole idea of a book, these days. I have a cover artist that when she makes a cover I like, I see the story unfolding, usually because she has the characters on the cover and by looking at them, an idea forms about these two people. I write by inspiration. If I don't have any that day, I try to do something I don't like to inspire my thinking, like housework. LOL But these days I write on four to six books at a time. So usually one will inspire me to go ahead and write something that day. I usually write 1-4 chapter in one day. Of course I'm retired and have that much time.

Q: Why do you write?

A: That question is hard to answer, a writer at some point in their life discovers that it is what they were meant to do. Now granted some do just write for money but a true writer, has to write, they cannot not write. It's like an artist, they are the same way. You can put it away for years, but it will still be there. I've done many odd jobs before, but writing is just part of my life, and believe me, I'm still learning at sixty-nine years old. And I plan to continue writing until I can no longer do it.

Q: Any final thoughts that you want to give to your fans or even future authors?

A: To future authors, don't give up. Get a hard skin, rejection is part of writing. If someone tells you that you'll never be a writer, stick with it, and show them they don't know what they are talking about. Writing cane be a lifetime of learning. Learn your trade and keep going no one is perfect. To fans, I hope I touch some of your hearts with my work.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page