top of page
  • Amy's Bookshelf Reviews

Featured Author: Nicholas Diaz


Q: How many books have you written? How many of those are published?

A: I have written one book to completion, so that’s one book completed and published. I do have a few more books that I am currently writing on. A few of those follows the “From Dusk” story line as that one is one of 4 books. The others are sort of spin-offs from that universe that I’m creating.

Q: Do you have an upcoming release? If yes, tell me the title and impending release date.

A: I have one book that I am working on, it’s not complete just yet, it’s about half way through but I will definitely keep you up to date with what’s going on with that one!

Q: Without quoting your back cover synopsis, tell me about the last book you published.

A: “From Dusk” is a story about survival and picking up the pieces that fell from the events prior. It’s a story that takes a toll on the characters that are involved and some of the characters, like Kurai and Murkano, have already gone through these changes. These “amnikon” users are fighting to reclaim their planet from the corrupt Oblivious organization who are trying to transform the planets core into a living metal. But the Gods, the amnikon users “bosses” are growing tired waiting around for them to make progress. They were supposed to protect this planet and failed, now they will pay the price.

Q: Tell me something about yourself that is separate from writing.

A: I’m a gamer. I game when I can, I game because it’s fun, it relaxes me. Gaming is also an inspiration to me. When I see something cool in a game, whether it’s the story or the characters, I try to pick them apart and see why it is that they’re cool to me. Then I change it, I put my own twisted imagination on things to make them unique to who I am.

Q: What is the last book that you read? (Not counting anything you wrote)

A: The last book that I read was “Insurgent” by Veronica Roth. It was a fantastic book, I haven’t read the first book yet, though I did see the movie adaptation of it.

Q: When writing, do you have a system or something you plan, or do you just write?

A: I do have some sort of a plan, it’s more like a “mind dump”, if you will. I basically make an outline of everything that will be in my story or can be in it. I outline the characters, the time in which is takes place, where it takes place. I begin to write the basics of the story, if the story is a struggle for the characters, is it a war. I write these things down in a bullet point format and then go back to that document if I’ve thought of something else, or if something isn’t working right.

Q: Why do you write?

A: I write because it’s fun, I write because when I’m writing I’m creating my own world. Similar to how video game designers make their games. I’m creating the people, the circumstances, the world itself. I’m creating a vision that I hope people will be able to see one day for themselves. The concept of writing has been with me since grade school and it’s just as fun now as it was before.

Q: Any final thoughts that you want to give to your fans or even future authors?

A: Just keep writing and finding different ways to get what you can do out there. Put your book out there to reviewers, different media outlets and something good will come of your hard work.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page