top of page
  • Amy's Bookshelf Reviews

Featured Author: Kathryn Hearst


Q: In one sentence, tell me something that describes you as a person?

A: Subaru commercials make me cry, every time and every commercial.

Q: How many books have you written? How many of those are published?

A: I’ve written seven books. Two in the Order of the Sinistra Dei series, two in the Tessa Lamar series, two in a secret series releasing in 2017, and a standalone that’s currently with my agent. Three have been published, with #4 releasing November 8th.

Q: Do you have an upcoming release? If yes, tell me the title and impending release date.

A: Twelve Spirits of Christmas, Book 2 in the Tessa Lamar series, is scheduled to release on November 8th.

Q: If you could “create” your own genre of what you write, what would you call your books?

A: Each of my series has a different tone. I’d call the Order of the Sinistra Dei series “Schmexy-Dark-Vampish Fantasy.” The Tessa Lamar books are lighter reads, “Funky-Southern-Fried Fantasy.”

Q: Without quoting your back cover synopsis, tell me about the last book you published.

A: Feast of Mercy is the second book in the Order of the Sinistra Dei series. It’s a coming of age & love story of two immortals, Nick and Marin. They face threats, both external and of their own making, while struggling to form a relationship. These two can’t get on the same page to save their lives.

As a human, Nick led a life filled with money, women, and freedom. Immortality clipped his wings, bringing responsibilities and crushing self-doubt. He might be at the top of the food chain, but he’s at the bottom of the social ladder.

Marin never felt like she fit in with the New Orleans clutch. When she’s forced to assist in the Vatican’s investigation of her clutch-mates, she decides to use her new position to save them. The more time she spends with the Judge, the more she questions her plans for the future.

As the investigation continues, crimes are uncovered that could mean a date with the executioner for them all.

Q: Tell me something about yourself that is separate from writing.

A: I think everyone should have a theme song. I named my three rescue dogs after names in song titles. I sing to them so often, Jolene, Roxanne, and Jagger can recognize their songs on the radio.

Q: Who is your favorite Author?

A: I have a list of favorite authors, but Anne Rice has occupied the first spot since I was a teenager. I love that she was the first to tell a vampire story from the point of view of the vampire. Her characters are tortured, sexy, and so very human.

Q: What is the last book that you read? (Not counting anything you wrote)

A: I’m currently rereading Game of Thrones. I need my fix and can’t wait for the next book or television season. My friends have several theories about the ending, but I’m keeping my thoughts to myself until I finish the books for the second time.

Q: When writing, do you have a system or something you plan, or do you just write?

A: I’m a horrible pantser. I start out with six to eight story-beats that must happen in the story, and the approximate word count when the beats should occur. Half-way through the first draft, I end up in a state of panic, thinking: I’ll never finish, I’ve dropped a plot line, or I wrote myself into a corner. After I stop freaking out, I promise myself I’ll outline the next project. So far, I’ve broken that promise every time.

Q: Why do you write?

A: Besides masochistic tendencies? I use writing as therapy, a creative outlet, and for a sense of meaning. I’d love to write something that helped another person see something in a different way, or inspired them to change, write, love… I want to make a difference, even if it’s providing someone an escape from reality for a few hours. I’ll consider myself a success when I can write a story that sticks with people long after they’ve finished the book; or when HBO makes a show based on one of my series.

Q: Do you read your own work a lot? If so, what does it do for you?

A: I can’t read my work once the editing process is over. I see too many things I want to change. When writing Feast of Mercy, I referred to Feast of the Epiphany several times. I’ve definitely grown as a writer, but boy, did I want to rewrite it!

Q: What is your favorite type of music? Is there one genre (or song, band etc...) that brings out your creativeness more than others?

A: I’m a child of the 80s, but not the neon eyeshadow and shoulder pads kind. I was one of those kids who wore black and moped around listening to The Cure, Type-O, Joy Division, & Bauhaus. My iPod has all of these, and an eclectic mix of industrial, classic rock, and some classical. Music gets my ideas churning, but I have to turn it off when I write. My ADD won’t allow me to type and listen at the same time.

Q: As an author, I find that the hardest thing to write (for me) is the synopsis that will be on the back cover or book’s description. When you write, what is the hardest line to write, the first line, the last line or the synopsis for the book?

A: There’s nothing worse than staring at a blank page. Once I nail the opening line, the rest comes in spurts between episodes of self-doubt. Synopses are a close second. They’re pure unadulterated evil, created by publishers to weed out authors who aren’t 100% committed. Seriously, if you can survive boiling an 80,000 word novel into two pages, you can survive an editor.

Q: Any final thoughts that you want to give to your fans or even future authors?

A: I’d like to take a moment and thank my readers. It humbles me when people tell me they’ve read my work. There’s a real person behind the computer, talk to me. I love feedback, positive and negative.

For the aspiring authors out there, my best advice is to realize you can’t do this alone. Surround yourself with industry professionals and successful authors. Find people who will tell you why your writing stinks and how to fix it. Believe me, it stinks. I don’t care what your granny, mommy, or best friend said. Listen to editors, beta readers, agents, etc. Put your ego aside and learn the craft.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page