top of page
  • Amy's Bookshelf Reviews

Featured Author: Gonçalo Nunes Dias


Q: In one sentence, tell me something that describes you as a person?

A: A very persistent person, with a million projects in my mind.

Q: How many books have you written? How many of those are published?

A: The Good Dictator it’s my first novel.

Q: Do you have an upcoming release? If yes, tell me the title and impending release date.

A: Yes, I’m finishing my second novel, it’s a crime fiction, its going to be released next year in the Portuguese market, and, I’m already working in the second part of the Good Dictator.

Q: If you could “create” your own genre of what you write, what would you call your books?

A: “The politically incorrect” or just “sometimes the bad guy wins” ….lol

Q: Without quoting your back cover synopsis, tell me about the last book you published.

A: It’s my first novel and I think that the main character and I had a lot in common. I would say that it's a bit my alter ego.

Q: Tell me something about yourself that is separate from writing.

A: I love birdwatching; I try every weekend get a walk with my two sons and found some new bird.

Q: Who is your favorite Author?

A: The Portuguese Nobel Prize: José Saramago

Q: What is the last book that you read? (Not counting anything you wrote)

A: The Big Bow Mystery (1892) from Israel Zangwill

Q: When writing, do you have a system or something you plan, or do you just write?

A: I have a system, first I think about a history and then when a have the whole plot I start writing.

Q: Why do you write?

A: For pleasure

Q: Do you read your own work a lot? If so, what does it do for you?

A: I read my work a lot for trying to find mistakes

Q: What is your favorite type of music? Is there one genre (or song, band etc...) that brings out your creativeness more than others?

A: I love Rock music, but lately, I’m listing a lot of Iceland music, like Sigur Ros or Mum. Music it’s definitely a source of creativity, but I prefer to write in the complete silence.

Q: As an author, I find that the hardest thing to write (for me) is the synopsis that will be on the back cover or book’s description. When you write, what is the hardest line to write, the first line, the last line or the synopsis for the book?

A: Hard to say, but I probably chose the synopsis as well. Never know if it’s eye-catching.

Q: Any final thoughts that you want to give to your fans or even future authors?

A: When you find something that you really love, do it for yourself, even if, it’s look like a hopeless case for others

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page