top of page
  • Amy's Bookshelf Reviews

Featured Author: Jerry Snider


Q: In one sentence, tell me something that describes you as a person?

A: Fun and funny.

Q: How many books have you written? How many of those are published?

A: Buddy Bloom Wildflower is my first book for children ages 8 to 80 – my biography in kid form. Working on another and it should be good to go soon. I have a story in the first edition of a devotional called Run for God and another in Chicken Soup for The Father Daughter Soul.

Q: Do you have an upcoming release? If yes, tell me the title and impending release date.

A: No, but check out my blog – The Art of Becoming a Wildflower.

Q: If you could “create” your own genre of what you write, what would you call your books?

A: Hope and Laughter.

Q: Without quoting your back cover synopsis, tell me about the last book you published.

A: Buddy Bloom is a flower seed trying to find his purpose. After a raging storm separates him from his friends, he gets help from George the Ant, Ken the Turtle, and Sadie the Butterfly – they help him see the possibilities for a wildflower. A book about the value of adversity, the joy of friendship and the celebration of life.

Q: Tell me something about yourself that is separate from writing.

A: At the age of 64 I started working at a preschool. I figured the kids would have a lot to teach me. Boy did I get that one right!

Q: Who is your favorite Author?

A: I don't have one – As a wise man said long ago, “Be open to everything and attached to nothing.”

Q: What is the last book that you read? (Not counting anything you wrote)

A: I reread Loving Each Other by Leo Buscaglia. My book, Buddy Bloom is dedicated to him.

Q: When writing, do you have a system or something you plan, or do you just write?

A: One hour a day..an idea...a quote...a message...run with it and see where it takes me.

Q: Why do you write?

A: I enjoy it. And I have something to say. I want to share hope and laughter.

Q: Do you read your own work a lot? If so, what does it do for you?

A: Yes, just to see how far I've come since I started way back when.

Q: What is your favorite type of music? Is there one genre (or song, band etc...) that brings out your creativeness more than others?

A: I like all kinds of music. I have a set of drums. Sometimes I pretend to be Ringo Starr.

Q: As an author, I find that the hardest thing to write (for me) is the synopsis that will be on the back cover or book’s description. When you write, what is the hardest line to write, the first line, the last line or the synopsis for the book?

A: For me, sharpening the idea – once I know what I want to say the how to say it flows.

Q: Any final thoughts that you want to give to your fans or even future authors?

A: Be kind. Be true to yourself. Have fun.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page