top of page
  • Amy Shannon

Featured Author: Glenn Fain


Q: In one sentence, tell me something that describes you as a person?

A: I’m curious, and come at things from a different perspective than most people.

Q: How many books have you written? How many of those are published?

A: I’ve written five novels, although my fifth still needs a lot of work. I’ve published three of them so far. They are all totally different.

Q: Do you have an upcoming release? If yes, tell me the title and impending release date.

A: In early December of 2016 I published my latest, “The Woman of My Dreams.”

Q: If you could “create” your own genre of what you write, what would you call your books?

A: None of my books fit neatly into any one genre. I tend to take whatever I want and whatever my books need, without always limiting myself to what most people refer to as reality. I like the word “fantastic” to describe my books, with the original meaning in mind, not how it’s generally used now.

Q: Without quoting your back cover synopsis, tell me about the last book you published.

A: It’s a novel about a man who falls in love with a woman who only exists in his dreams. It takes the idea to a logical conclusion, with his dream world in conflict with his waking world, and the chaos this creates.

Q: Tell me something about yourself that is separate from writing.

A: I work at a cancer research center, paying the bills, with a dream of moving to Europe some day. I have two cats and currently live in Seattle. I’ve been getting into “Dr. Who” lately. For some reason, I missed that show growing up.

Q: Who is your favorite Author?

A: My favorite living writer is Haruki Murakami. I love how his books resemble dreams.

Q: What is the last book that you read? (Not counting anything you wrote)

A: “Revolutionaries of the Soul” by Gary Lachman. This is nonfiction, about a few mystics he chose to talk about, like Gurdjieff, Osho, Crowley, and others.

Q: When writing, do you have a system or something you plan, or do you just write?

A: I try to map out most of the book vaguely, so at least I have a path to follow. But I like when I step off the path and go somewhere else I hadn’t anticipated. Occasionally surprising myself with what comes out in my writing makes me happy.

Q: Why do you write?

A: That’s a very good question. I’m not sure anymore. At this point it’s more like a marriage than anything else and I’m sort of stuck with it.

Q: Do you read your own work a lot? If so, what does it do for you?

A: I never read anything I write once it’s in the world, unless absolutely necessary. Probably because I look at is so damn much getting it ready.

Q: What is your favorite type of music? Is there one genre (or song, band etc...) that brings out your creativeness more than others?

A: I’ve been enjoying writing to Miles Davis lately. It all depends. Classical music is good to write to if it’s not too distracting. Some songs do breed ideas, but it’s always changing.

Q: As an author, I find that the hardest thing to write (for me) is the synopsis that will be on the back cover or book’s description. When you write, what is the hardest line to write, the first line, the last line or the synopsis for the book?

A: I always say writing the novel is a hundred times easier than writing the synopsis. I don’t think the author of the novel should ever even attempt to write the synopsis, but obviously we don’t live in an ideal world. I’ve always written the synopsis myself with a lot of input from others, because as the author, I have no idea how to describe the book in a few lines to make it attractive to the reader.

Q: Any final thoughts that you want to give to your fans or even future authors?

A: If you want to write, write, and don’t worry too much about what other people think, or what you imagine they want to read. Be original, create things that have never been created before.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page