top of page
  • Amy Shannon

Featured Author: John Heide


Q: In one sentence, tell me something that describes you as a person?

A: I love to make stuff up, music and writing, but I never lie.

Q: How many books have you written? How many of those are published?

A: One written and one published

Q: Tell me about how you come up with your titles for your stories. Do you create the title before or after you write the book, and does it ever change from the initial title?

A: The title 'The Flight of the Pickerings' was conceived right away by my wife Janice and myself when we were both marveling at the uniqueness of the dream/story that I awoke with one morning.

Q: Out of all your characters in all of your books, who/what (sometimes a setting can also be an important “character”) do you think is the most interesting and why?

A: Guy Pickering is the most engaging character by far. He's someone that all of us can relate to or have known during our lives if we have ever been around stalwart elders. He's the kind of guy you want as a neighbor. We see him in this book at a time when his known world is falling apart and the drama that unfolds makes one want to laugh and cry.

Q: If you could “create” your own genre of what you write, what would you call your books?

A: Dramedy is the closest genre that matches what I like to write. Real world drama with a message tinged with humor.

Q: Without quoting your back cover synopsis, tell me about the last book you published.

A: If you can imagine a story of a man trying to figure out and control the last days of his and his wife's life as funny, then you have The Flight of the Pickerings.

Q: Tell me something about yourself that is separate from writing.

A: I think I'm moving to Mexico.

Q: Who is your favorite Author?

A: tough to have one. James Clavell, Larry McMurtry, Bill Bryson, Dave Barry among others.

Q: What is the last book that you read? (Not counting anything you wrote)

A: "Neither here nor There", by Bill Bryson. Right now I'm reading "The Sympathizer" by Viet Thang Nguyen

Q: When writing, do you have a system or something you plan, or do you just write?

A: I'm adopting a more "planned out outline" approach to writing these days in hopes that I will have less to jettison later.

Q: Why do you write?

A: Because I have to.

Q: Do you read your own work a lot? If so, what does it do for you?

A: Not a lot except to re-write it.

Q: What is your favorite type of music? Is there one genre (or song, band etc...) that brings out your creativeness more than others?

A: My tastes in music are far more eclectic and wide ranging to confine to a "favorite". Blues, Folk, Americana with a back-beat, Classical, World Beat, sometimes even Hip Hop.

Q: As an author, I find that the hardest thing to write (for me) is the synopsis that will be on the back cover or book’s description. When you write, what is the hardest line to write, the first line, the last line or the synopsis for the book?

A: The first line is the hardest. Once you take that step, you're committed to a large chunk of time.

Q: Any final thoughts that you want to give to your fans or even future authors?

A: Fans? Do I have fans?

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page