top of page
  • Amy Shannon

A First Look: Fettering Shadows


My latest work is called "Fettering Shadows". I have yet to

announce the release date, but here is an excerpt from the story.

[Jake] led her up the stairs to his front door, and into the

living room. “Uh, have a seat.”

“I’ll stand,” [Aggie] sighed. “Jake, I’m sorry about before. If you could please, I’d still like for you to work my case.”

“I wasn’t giving up on it,” he crossed his arms. “Dr. Constantine, I like you. I like you a lot, as I think you’re a pretty smart woman, and you’re not bad on the eyes. No, not bad at all.”

She looked into his eyes and sighed. “But?”

“But nothin’. I’ll work for you. You’re my client, but there’s more to this case, these murders, than just being my client. I was asked to look at these cases before you hired me. I’ve been a Marine, a cop and now, private security. I can handle myself. I don’t need you ... or anyone for that matter ... telling me what I can or can’t do.”

“You’re right. I’m sorry, and I overreacted,” she sighed, backing up until her back touched the door. “I was up all night, and yes, I know you were, too. Jake, I’m sorry. Can we start over?”

“I guess,” he shrugged. “Doc, this can only be professional.”

“I thought you said ... uh, never mind, you’re right,” she turned to leave and opened the door. “No, that’s not right,” she turned and faced him. “Dammit, I may be your client, but I like you, too, Jake.”

“Nothing can ever happen between us ..,” he sighed. “As long as your stalker is killing the people in this town.”

“Now you believe me that it’s my stalker?”

“I believed you, always have, but now I know that it is,” he sighed. “I just know that it is.”

“At least someone believes me,” she sighed. “Nothing but professional, huh?”

“I’m sorry, but even a friendship with you, is too dangerous for you and for others,” he lied, wondering if this statement would get through to her.

“That’s bull,” she sighed.

“Exactly,” he put his hands on her shoulders. “We should be friends. We are friends. We like each other, right?” he leaned down and kissed her cheek.

0 comments
bottom of page