top of page
  • Amy's Bookshelf Reviews

Featured Author: R Weir


Q: In one sentence, tell me something that describes you as a person?

A: A loving, devoted and involved husband and father.

Q: How many books have you written? How many of those are published?

A: Counting my short stories, I’ve written 9, 6 of which are self-published

Q: Do you have an upcoming release? If yes, tell me the title and impending release date.

A: The Case of the Invisible Souls is my latest release. It came out June 24th and is book 6 in the Jarvis Mann series.

Q: If you could “create” your own genre of what you write, what would you call your books?

A: Since my books are old style noir type stories, with modern twists, Detectives and Dames is what I’d call the genre.

Q: Without quoting your back-cover synopsis, tell me about the last book you published.

A: The Case of the Invisible Souls continues the Jarvis Mann Detective Series, as he goes undercover in the homeless community trying to figure out why certain homeless people are disappearing.

Q: Tell me something about yourself that is separate from writing.

A: I love to ride my motorcycle. It is quite freeing and I would love to take a year and ride across the US. Unfortunately, I was in an accident on my bike in November of last year, so that dream is on hold as I recover from the injuries. As a family, we also enjoy taking our motorhome and travel.

Q: Who is your favorite Author?

A: Robert B Parker. His Spenser and Jesse Stone books are classics, I’ve read many times.

Q: What is the last book that you read? (Not counting anything you wrote)

A: The Martian by Andy Weir. No relation. It’s really a fun read.

Q: When writing, do you have a system or something you plan, or do you just write?

A: I always have a basic idea, which fleshes out as I write it. Many times, it can change quite a bit from how I first imagined. Often as I write the story, it develops and evolves. There is a natural flow to it, just like how day to day life is.

Q: Why do you write?

A: The stories have always floated around in my head. I often times write to get them out of my thoughts. It also can be quite therapeutic.

Q: Do you read your own work a lot? If so, what does it do for you?

A: I read them a lot as I write, to proof read and keep various characters and plots straight. I do go back from time to time to re-read my stories, to refresh in my mind, where my characters have been, to prevent repetition, since it is a series.

Q: What is your favorite type of music? Is there one genre (or song, band etc...) that brings out your creativeness more than others?

A: Rock and Country Rock these days. Inspiration comes from artists like U2 and Eric Church.

Q: As an author, I find that the hardest thing to write (for me) is the synopsis that will be on the back cover or book’s description. When you write, what is the hardest line to write, the first line, the last line or the synopsis for the book?

A: Synopsis it the most difficult, as you need to narrow tens of thousands of words in a story into one or two paragraphs that give just enough to tease the reader. It can be most challenging to do.

Q: Any final thoughts that you want to give to your fans or even future authors?

A: For fans, after reading leave a review, especially for an indie author. The big names get plenty of reviews, but the indies struggle to get more than fifty, even if their work is highly thought of. I know for me I read every review and enjoy them all, even the ones that are critical. And contact them, they love hearing from readers, either via email or social media

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page