top of page
  • Amy Shannon

Showcase: Janice J. Richardson


Jennifer S. Alderson's nominated Janice J. Richardson as an Indie Author who deserves appreciation and acknowledgement of her work. I am pleased to present this author a showcase blog post.

Author Bio:

Janice J. Richardson is a Canadian author who started writing later in life. Richardson was born in Toronto a few minutes after her twin. Richardson is a special needs mom and raised one of her special needs grandchildren. Being a funeral director was who she was meant to be, although she worked as a medical office assistant for many years, and did a bit of time as a library technician out of high school.

From the age of 8, Richardson wanted to be a funeral director. It was later in life that she was finally able to go to college and live that dream.

Books:

Richardson’s first book, The Making of a Funeral Director, is a memoir and it is about what it takes to become a funeral director.

The Spencer Funeral Home Niagara series follows a young woman, Jennifer, who inherits a funeral home. It is in the cozy genre with a twist. Not all mysteries involve murder. Book 1 of the series, Casket Cache is a typical cozy. Book 2, Winter's Mourning, deviates slightly with a mystery that is resolved at the end of the book.

Book 3, Grave Mistake is a typical cozy and will be released late summer of 2017. The final book of the series, First Call has a TBR date by the end of the year.

From the author:

I am in the process of working on a box set with two other authors. All three of us are career-changing women who picked challenging, non-traditional careers a little later in life. (police, EMT, funeral service). Should we be able to work together we will start with an eBook set.

Titles are a challenge, they are a play on words and relate to funeral service. They often pop into my head at odd hours when I am plotting a scene or mystery.

Outside of my 'author' persona is a volunteer, special needs advocate and poverty law advocate. I have the privilege of being a board member in poverty law advocacy in Ontario. My children and grandchildren are scattered across the province, we are not able to get together often, it's been a few years.

I am a personal assistant to a cat, a little feral rescue named Vegas. I call her kittybrat. Life BC (before cat) meant being able to sit and write anytime. Life AC (after cat) means waiting until my fur friend is sleeping.

My favourite author? That's a tough question. It varies. Non-fiction is my favourite genre. Fiction: I am a big fan of Jennifer S. Alderson (Down and Out in Kathmandu, The Lover's Portrait) and Louise Penny (The Inspector Gamache series).

The last book I read was rather interesting, a bit out of my comfort zone. It was a thriller/mystery by C.P, Wilson entitled Ice Cold Alice. It was either free or on sale, I downloaded it for a bus trip and read it in one sitting. Suspenseful, exciting, and I found myself rooting for the villain.

My favourite music is classical, something soft and gentle. I played piano and organ and oboe years ago, but no longer. I don't have a favourite singer anymore, I seldom listen to music, I like quiet, a bird-chirps, and breeze-blowing kind of quiet.

Memorable quote from the author:

“One of the best things about being an author is having someone say they learned something, or felt good about what they read. Truly that is the best gift an author can receive.” Janice J. Robinson

Jennifer S. Alderson's nominated Janice J. Richardson as an Indie Author who deserves appreciation and acknowledgement of her work. I am pleased to present this author a showcase blog post.

Author Bio:

Janice J. Richardson is a Canadian author who started writing later in life. Richardson was born in Toronto a few minutes after her twin. Richardson is a special needs mom and raised one of her special needs grandchildren. Being a funeral director was who she was meant to be, although she worked as a medical office assistant for many years, and did a bit of time as a library technician out of high school.

From the age of 8, Richardson wanted to be a funeral director. It was later in life that she was finally able to go to college and live that dream.

Books:

Richardson’s first book, The Making of a Funeral Director, is a memoir and it is about what it takes to become a funeral director.

The Spencer Funeral Home Niagara series follows a young woman, Jennifer, who inherits a funeral home. It is in the cozy genre with a twist. Not all mysteries involve murder. Book 1 of the series, Casket Cache is a typical cozy. Book 2, Winter's Mourning, deviates slightly with a mystery that is resolved at the end of the book.

Book 3, Grave Mistake is a typical cozy and will be released late summer of 2017. The final book of the series, First Call has a TBR date by the end of the year.

From the author:

I am in the process of working on a box set with two other authors. All three of us are career-changing women who picked challenging, non-traditional careers a little later in life. (police, EMT, funeral service). Should we be able to work together we will start with an eBook set.

Titles are a challenge, they are a play on words and relate to funeral service. They often pop into my head at odd hours when I am plotting a scene or mystery.

Outside of my 'author' persona is a volunteer, special needs advocate and poverty law advocate. I have the privilege of being a board member in poverty law advocacy in Ontario. My children and grandchildren are scattered across the province, we are not able to get together often, it's been a few years.

I am a personal assistant to a cat, a little feral rescue named Vegas. I call her kittybrat. Life BC (before cat) meant being able to sit and write anytime. Life AC (after cat) means waiting until my fur friend is sleeping.

My favourite author? That's a tough question. It varies. Non-fiction is my favourite genre. Fiction: I am a big fan of Jennifer S. Alderson (Down and Out in Kathmandu, The Lover's Portrait) and Louise Penny (The Inspector Gamache series).

The last book I read was rather interesting, a bit out of my comfort zone. It was a thriller/mystery by C.P, Wilson entitled Ice Cold Alice. It was either free or on sale, I downloaded it for a bus trip and read it in one sitting. Suspenseful, exciting, and I found myself rooting for the villan.

My favourite music is classical, something soft and gentle. I played piano and organ and oboe years ago, but no longer. I don't have a favourite singer anymore, I seldom listen to music, I like quiet, a bird-chirps, and breeze-blowing kind of quiet.

Memorable quote from the author:

“One of the best things about being an author is having someone say they learned something, or felt good about what they read. Truly that is the best gift an author can receive.” Janice J. Robinson

Website links:

0 comments
Essence Enterprises.png
© Copyright 2017-2022 Amy Shannon. All Images are property of Amy Shannon, with the exception of the BOOK Covers (those are owned by the authors of those books). Anyone wanting to access one of the images owned by Amy Shannon, can contact her directly for permission.

Amy Shannon

© 2014-2022 Essence Enterprises. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page