top of page
  • Amy Shannon

What's in a name?


When writing, sometimes it is hard to find that perfect name for a character. It is especially hard when naming that main

character.

You want the name to fit the character, the culture of the character, the background. Ever write for one character, and then rename that character, and write it in a whole different way.

When I first started writing "Contrary Measures" the main character's name was Emily. After writing the first chapter, I realized that it didn't fit. her name did not fit the type of character she was. I changed the name to "Rayna" and part of that was so I could shorten her name to "Ray". It seemed to fit her persona, especially in the journey to find out who she is and who she was. (It was also before I wrote about the character "Raina" in my Sars Springs Saga).

Every time I give a character a name, from major to the smallest character (I like to give even a one-time character a name), it is an important decision. Some writers use a placeholder name or word for their character until they come up with the perfect name for the character. I give the character a name, and sometimes go back to change it. I do keep a list of names, sometimes when i hear a name in passing, read a unique name or be introduced to a new character on a television show, i'll write down the name to be used later.

Sometimes I write the character around the name, and other times, I change the name to fit the character.

Age

When writing for a character, you can use their name to give an estimate of their age. I like using names like Agnes, Harold or Arnold, as they were popular names decades ago. The name can show the age without the writer explaining their age. However, I did write one character who was young, but she was named Agnes. It was explained to be a family name.

Culture

If you want a character who is Italian, Greek, Indian, Spanish etc ... the name should reflect the heritage. Not just the surnames, but make sure that works as well. Sometimes "Smith" or "Jones" isn't going to cut it, and other times it's important to the story.

Occupation

Did you know that surnames, such as Smith, Cooper, Taylor, or even Spinner (and those are just examples) were created based on a person's occupation? Well, think about the same type of thing when creating your character. I'm not saying call your carpenter character "John Carpenter" but it could be part of his backstory. I have used the surname "Marshall" a few times, especially when the character is in law enforcement. Sometimes, it just sounds like it should fit.

Names:

Where do you get names? Well, when soon-to-be parents are looking at names, they look everywhere, family names, baby book names (both print and online), a name in a book, from a television show, and now, probably friends names from Facebook or social media.

I have my list. I also have the baby book that my parents used to pick out my name before I was born. I was named after my grandmother. My parents used my grandmother's initials AMY (Alice Maude Young) to make my name. When they wrote out a list of names they liked my first and middle name were right next to each other.

Alliteration

Some writers like using alliteration in their names, such as Mathew Maxwell, Jennifer Jones, etc ... (just look at Stan Lee and his Marvel Avengers (Bruce Banner comes to mind, and not just because the Hulk is my favorite anti-hero). some also think alliteration is fun when writing romance novels, where the hero and his love interest have the same first letters in their name.

Personally, I don't do it very often. I have found that I like certain letters for names (I prefer using M, E, and R's a lot) and there are character names that I seem to "recycle" in otherr books. (I have a few characters named Raina/Rayna, or Carly, or Terry, and even Mike, Mark or Matthew).

However you pick a name, make it fit for your character. And if you use a place holder, make sure it's easy to search to do a find and replace in your manuscript, so there are no errors when it comes to the name.

One time, I even held a contest for unique names and gave the winner credit in the book for the naming of the character. I only did this once, as I ended up writing the character to fit her name.


0 comments
bottom of page