top of page
  • Amy Shannon

Featured Author: J B Michaels


Q: In one sentence, tell me something that describes you as

a person?

A: I am a dedicated family man with dreams and a big heart.

Q: How many books have you written? How many of those are published?

A: I have written four books and all four are out now.

Q: Do you have an upcoming release? If yes, tell me the title and impending release date.

A: I have a boxed set, called Wrath and Ruin, with one of my books (The Order of St. Michael) currently exclusive to the set, that releases January 2nd, 2018.

Q: Tell me about how you come up with your titles for your stories. Do you create the title before or after you write the book, and does it ever change from the initial title?

A: I usually have a solid title in mind going into the drafting process, alas, sometimes as the marketing and story evolve the title may change. Originally, the Elixir was called ‘The Elixir of the Ancients’. Shorter titles are apparently better for marketing.

Q: Out of all your characters in all of your books, who/what (sometimes a setting can also be an important “character”)do you think is the most interesting and why?

A: I have to say that the quirkiest character is Bud Hutchins. When we first meet him, he is very, very awkward and the more he interacts with others, the more he comfortable he gets. So I really like seeing his strangeness but also the fact that his heart grows bigger and bigger as his adventures continue. He is becoming more likable I promise. There are so many other characters I could talk about like Captain Brendan and Maeve, but I will stick with Bud for now.

Q: If you could “create” your own genre of what you write, what would you call your books?

A: Fantasy Action Thrillers. There is really no better way to describe my books. The Tannenbaum Tailors and Bud Hutchins Thrillers are steeped in various forms of the fantastic combined with the energy of action fiction and suspense of thrillers!

Q: Without quoting your back cover synopsis, tell me about the last book you published.

A: The Elixir: A Bud Hutchins Thriller was borne out of my love for archaeology and Monster movies. I worked with Chicago’s famed Oriental Institute for two years and I had to write a story based there or around its contents.

Q: Tell me something about yourself that is separate from writing.

A: I am a huge Walt Disney World enthusiast.

Q: Who is your favorite Author?

A: Michael Crichton. He was the best. Still is.

Q: What is the last book that you read? (Not counting anything you wrote)

A: I read Meg by Steve Alten. The book is about a huge albino shark that goes on a rampage. It was pretty good. Although, I must admit at times just a bit too gory for me.

Q: When writing, do you have a system or something you plan, or do you just write?

A: My first book, The Tannenbaum Tailors and the Secret Snowball, I didn’t have a plan really. I wrote the first draft very quickly and powered through it. That book went through an intensive revision process that lasted for years so I decided that it was better to plot things out first. So, now I take a notebook and a physical writing apparatus and write out the major plot points. I do this in a room with no distractions. It is pure brainstorming. This is the idea phase and perhaps, the most exciting part of the whole writing process!

Q: Why do you write?

A: I write because I have always written stories and created since I was a little kid! Also, my grandfather, who was very near and dear to my heart, told me I could do anything I wanted… anything. That really stuck with me. He told me that about two months before he passed away and it impacted me deeply. He used to tell me stories all the time and we watched countless movies together and much of life has been spent in the study of story. He was the best ever. So much of my writing is because of him but also having watched so many movies, read so many books/comic books, I decided I had had enough of living in OTHER people’s imaginations and had to create my own stories. Hence, the Tannenbaum Tailors and Bud Hutchins Thrillers were born.

Q: Do you read your own work a lot? If so, what does it do for you?

A: I do read my work because it helps me improve. I also have to push myself to enjoy my own work. I can be very critical of myself so, I have to keep reading through my work repeatedly, to finally come to a mentality of enjoyment. Does this make any sense? I truly do write books that I would enjoy reading myself. It’s hard to enjoy it sometimes, though.

Q: What is your favorite type of music? Is there one genre (or song, band etc...) that brings out your creativeness more than others?

A: My favorite music while I write is Christmas music and Enya. I know, it is crazy but I even listen to Christmas music while writing Bud’s stories. Enya really allows me to tap into a creative flow. I can’t always describe it or why, but it works for me.

Q: As an author, I find that the hardest thing to write (for me) is the synopsis that will be on the back cover or book’s description. When you write, what is the hardest line to write, the first line, the last line or the synopsis for the book?

A: The most carefully worded line is the first line of my novel. I really feel that if it doesn’t grab the attention of the reader, you will lose them.

Q: If you could sit down and have a coffee (or whatever beverage) with anyone, living or dead, from any era, any time, who would it be and why? (You can pick up to 3 persons).

A: Walt Disney, I would ask him for advice on how to push my career forward and thank him.

Theodore Roosevelt, I would ask him how he did so much in his life. I think he was known for drinking buckets of coffee, so maybe that’s my answer...haha.

My grandfather.

Q: What does it mean to be a “successful” writer?

A: Success is measured so subjectively. I would love to get to a point in my career that my writing and plot services sustain a livable, and comfortable income but to me, that “success” will come eventually.

Being a successful writer, is effectively communicating your story and figuring out what impact you want to have on the reader. I want to excite and give joy to others, if my writing does that then I feel we have to count that as true success. Having the honor of being on Amy’s Bookshelf Reviews “Top 10 Books of 2017” is a huge honor. It is wonderful distinctions like this that give a writer a semblance of what success really means.

Q: What do you want to accomplish, so when you look back at your life, you can say “I did that”?

A: It would be great to be known for my writing and maybe see a successful movie or tv adaptation of any of my stories. Long after I am gone, there will be my stories for people to discover and for future generations of my family to discover. That is important to me.

Q: Any final thoughts that you want to give to your fans or even future authors?

A: I would love to thank those that have read and enjoyed my books. Thank you! I am truly grateful for your support.

Future authors: Keep writing! Don’t give up! Be open and persevere. Success will come.

Always believe in yourself and your dreams!

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page