top of page
  • Amy Shannon

Featured Author: Annette Whitaker-Moss


Q: In one sentence, tell me something that describes you as a person?

A: I am very devoted, trustworthy, reliable, and supportive of others.

Q: How many books have you written? How many of those are published?

A: I have written and published three books; and currently working of three others.

Q: Do you have an upcoming release? If yes, tell me the title and impending release date.

A: No. I do not have an upcoming release at this time. My three upcoming books are a work in progress to be completed hopefully by the end of the year.

Q: Tell me about how you come up with your titles for your stories. Do you create the title before or after you write the book, and does it ever change from the initial title?

A: The titles for my books are created based on my experiences and/or experiences discussed with others. They are always tentative and changes as the stories are developed. In fact, some of the initial titles become chapters.

Q: If you could “create” your own genre of what you write, what would you call your books?

A: If I could create my own genre, it would be called “Reality”.

Q: Without quoting your back cover synopsis, tell me about the last book you published.

A: Another Heart to Another, the last book I published, is “reality poetry” of which all people can instantly relate too. It includes all phases of life.

Q: Tell me something about yourself that is separate from writing.

A: I have a passion for oil painting, playing the piano, drawing, arts and crafts, and photography. However, writing seems to occupy my time these days. Someday, I would like to incorporate all of my talents into my life where time permits.

Q: Who is your favorite Author?

A: Today, my favorite author is Lisa Nichols. I am fascinated with the way she inspires others to change their lives.

Q: What is the last book that you read? (Not counting anything you wrote)

A: The last book I read is No Matter What! 9 Steps to Living the Life You Love, by Lisa Nichols.

Q: When writing, do you have a system or something you plan, or do you just write?

A: I do not have a system when writing. I just like to write, mostly late at night, after a long day at work because it helps me to relax.

Q: Why do you write?

A: I enjoy writing because I can express myself in a way that I probably wouldn’t otherwise. I can use my imagination to express all sort of emotions and still remain outstanding to many others.

Q: Do you read your own work a lot? If so, what does it do for you?

A: Usually, I do not read my own work after publication. On rare occasions, someone may ask me something about a poem that I written and my reply is, “It’s been so long since I read it, let me read it again and I will let you know what I meant by that”. And when I do read my own work, I am really amazed with myself.

Q: What is your favorite type of music? Is there one genre (or song, band etc...) that brings out your creativeness more than others?

A: Music does not bring out any creativeness in me. I like many genres (Gospel, R&B, Blues, and some Country) because I can relate to each of them depending on what I may be experiencing at the time. Sometimes, I listen to music to inspire myself, and other times to release my feelings.

Q: As an author, I find that the hardest thing to write (for me) is the synopsis that will be on the back cover or book’s description. When you write, what is the hardest line to write, the first line, the last line or the synopsis for the book?

A: Usually, I write the synopsis before I start the book. Then, I start with the main idea, which is usually the middle of the book. The start of the book (first lines) are usually the hardest for me to write because I have to create something that flows with the middle of the book where I started. I know it sounds backwards, but I like to focus on getting the main idea down on paper first.

Q: If you could sit down and have a coffee (or whatever beverage) with anyone, living or dead, from any era, any time, who would it be and why? (You can pick up to 3 persons).

A: I would love to sit with Edgar Allen Poe. He was the first author that intrigued me with his tales of mystery and shocking horror stories.

Stephen King is another author of horror and supernatural fiction that captures my attention. I am very entertained with such movies.

Maya Angelou is one of my favorite poets and authors. Her voice and presentation, along with who she stood for is a legacy for all ages. I could learn so much by sitting and listening to her while sipping on a cup of coffee.

Q: What does it mean to be a “successful” writer?

A: To me, a successful writer inspires and impact the lives of others by entertaining, teaching, and planting seeds to grow other writers. My goal as a successful author is to be an inspiration to my children, nieces, and nephews.

Q: What do you want to accomplish, so when you look back at your life, you can say “I did that”?

A: Of course, a best-seller book or a movie would classify me as a “successful” writer, so that “I AM SPEAKING INTO EXISTENCE”! LOL! It would definitely be my legacy for all my love ones to remember me saying, “Yes, I did that!”

Q: Any final thoughts that you want to give to your fans or even future authors?

A: I would like to remind fans and future authors to trust their own judgement. We all have talents that was intended to be used for good. Never let anyone talk you out of your dreams, especially if feels right in your heart. God gave us talents, but we have to learn what the talents are and how to use them for our benefit. Failures are not the end of the world, but the beginning of new opportunities. Always look forward for new opportunities.

Twitter: @WhitakerMoss


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page