top of page
  • Amy Shannon

Featured Author: Jerry Pociask


Q: In one sentence, tell me something that describes you as a person?

A: “More than just a pretty face” and “My momma dint raise no dummee”

Q: How many books have you written? How many of those are published?

A: Four. Self and published with help from a publisher.

Q: Do you have an upcoming release? If yes, tell me the title and impending release date.

A: Upcoming yes…date? TBD “Two Hours and alotta years ago”

Q: Tell me about how you come up with your titles for your stories. Do you create the title before or after you write the book, and does it ever change from the initial title?

A: A Title has to resonate with me. Don’t get me wrong, I like selling books. However, I write what is inside of me so yes, the title may change as time passes and before publication.

Q: Out of all your characters in all of your books, who/what (sometimes a setting can also be an important “character”) do you think is the most interesting and why?

A: In the book, “Grandma, Me and Tree,” the tree becomes personified to reflect personal beliefs of nature’s ability to communicate and man’s inability to comprehend what it is saying to us. I am excited to create sequels and explore the possibilities in learning and communication.

Q: If you could “create” your own genre of what you write, what would you call your books?

A: I wouldn’t. In fact I would remove 95% of the titled genres. The genre’s replaced the Dewey decimal system and aid in a booksellers marketing stats. Even libraries complain about the expansive need for categorizing genres. Imagine a world where people had to make a choice based solely upon a title or cover and then being surprised by the content. “Cracker Jack” made billions by marketing a “surprise” inside. Why can’t a publisher? Two of my books, “Call Me Grandpa” and “Call Me Grandma” are NOT children’s books. However because they are illustrated, they are categorized under “children’s.” Subjective decisions I realize, however I wasn’t even allowed to present a contrary argument to my local library! Personally, I’m starting to see people are overwhelmed by choices, however that is personal opinion.

Q: Without quoting your back cover synopsis, tell me about the last book you published.

A: An Anthology of 3 short stories Titled “Hidden Lives.” The title is appropriate because each story has “hidden” stories of which I can directly relate.

Q: Tell me something about yourself that is separate from writing.

A: I was honored by the Ojibwa with a name that translates to “He who sees clearly”

Q: Who is your favorite Author?

A: I really don’t have one

Q: What is the last book that you read? (Not counting anything you wrote)

A: “The Secret Lives of Trees” by Peter Wohlleben

Q: When writing, do you have a system or something you plan, or do you just write?

A: I just write and during multiple edits I embellish

Q: Why do you write?

A: Writing is cathartic. I get great pleasure from telling stories. I have been a speaker and always manage a story here and there and enjoy the response

Q: Do you read your own work a lot? If so, what does it do for you?

A: Only when editing. I have probably read each book a minimum of 30+ times

Q: What is your favorite type of music? Is there one genre (or song, band etc...) that brings out your creativeness more than others?

A: I played in a band, (drums) years ago. I enjoy almost every genre except rap and heavy metal

Q: As an author, I find that the hardest thing to write (for me) is the synopsis that will be on the back cover or book’s description. When you write, what is the hardest line to write, the first line, the last line or the synopsis for the book?

A: The synopsis. How does one who has poured their heart and soul into any book, describe the publication in 100 words or less. And then, being told it is supposed to grab a reader’s eye, I mean…SERIOUSLY??

Q: If you could sit down and have a coffee (or whatever beverage) with anyone, living or dead, from any era, any time, who would it be and why? (You can pick up to 3 persons).

A: Jacqueline Kennedy…I just wanna “know”

Winston Churchill. I admire his integrity

Q: What does it mean to be a “successful” writer?

A: Define success? Monetary, number of books written? Published? I’ve read people’s journals that articulated more insights, love, compassion and mystery for example than many best sellers. I will say this however, on my birthday in 2006 I was sent a box of “Call Me Grandpa.” The anticipation, the joy and disbelief to see one’s name on a “first” book cover can only be described by the author themselves. For me that was a notch on my Success Pole!

Q: What do you want to accomplish, so when you look back at your life, you can say “I did that”?

A: Imagine sitting in a theater and the movie ends. Credits begin to scroll and after the stars have been introduced you seen the line, “Screenplay based upon the story written by Jerry Pociask”

In the dark I would probably shed tear with pride and say, “I did that!”

Q: Any final thoughts that you want to give to your fans or even future authors?

A: I’d like to think I have fans so, to them I want to say I truly appreciate you! Thank you for your support. I appreciate even the critics because it tells me people are reading the books regardless.

To other authors? I suppose a tired old cliché is to be repeated here. JUST WRITE! But, write for you, write what resonates with you. There are thousands of reasons why someone buys a book so don’t write for the masses. Write for and from the heart. Imagine telling your story to yourself in front of a mirror. Write the words you would say to your spouse or lover or children. If 0.5% of the 7.6 billion people on the earth like your book and if 0.5% of those actually purchase a book, that 190,000 books sold. I don’t need to do the dollar amount math. Accept it’s a lot of money, don’t worry about sales and just write!

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page