top of page
  • Amy Shannon

Indie Author Showcase: Patricia Loofbourrow


Patricia Loofbourrow was nominated as an Indie Author who deserves appreciation and acknowledgement of his/her work. I am pleased to present this author a showcase blog post.

Author Bio:

Patricia Loofbourrow was born in southern California in 1962, and currently lives in Oklahoma. Learning to read at the age of three, she grew up on Heinlein, Bradbury, and Asimov, and found at an early age that she loved science.

Earning a Bachelors degree in Microbiology with a minor in Chemistry from Cal Poly Pomona then an MD from Rush University, Dr. Loofbourrow practiced family medicine for ten years before becoming a stay at home mom in 2000. After leaving medicine, Patricia Loofbourrow ran one of the first “ask a doctor” patient education websites from 2000-2004.

Patty wrote her first novel during the 2005 National Novel Writing Month, going on to write ten novels, four novellas, and well over 100 short stories, mostly speculative fiction. Her debut novel, The Jacq of Spades, was self-published in 2015, making the NY Times and USA Today best seller lists as part of the Dark Humanity science fiction and fantasy box set in February 2017.

She has been a long-time member of the Forward Motion Forums, and was the founder of Fifty Word Fiction on DeviantArt. She has also worked as a freelance non-fiction writer and editor since 2000, and currently runs an informational website on edible landscaping.

“The Interview”

Tell me two things about yourself that are separate from writing. I enjoy spinning very much. And I'm a big supporter of space exploration.

Why do you write? I'm more of a story addict.

Brag about ONE accomplishment as a writer. My first publication, The Jacq of Spades, was in a multi-author box set back in January 2017 called Dark Humanity which made the NYT and USA Today best seller lists.

Name up to five people who inspire you. My three children.

If you could sit down with anyone, living or dead, and have a conversation with, who would it be? I'd love to hang out with Neil DeGrasse Tyson. He seems like a fun guy.

Books:

Series: Red Dog Conspiracy

  • The Jacq of Spades

  • The Queen of Diamonds

  • The Ace of Clubs

  • The King of Hearts (coming Oct. 2018)

This is going to be a 13-part series, with each full-length novel one chapter of the story.

I have several prequels for this series out already and a companion story coming out in November as part of the Death and Damages multi-author box set.

In this fourth installment of the Red Dog Conspiracy, thousands of gentlemen have gone bankrupt and trouble brews between the Diamond and Spadros crime families. Yet the city is united in its desire to exact vengeance for those murdered in the zeppelin bombing.

Penniless and alone, private eye Jacqueline Spadros confronts the lowest point of her life. Seen as an accomplice in the financial crisis and accused of a crime she didn't commit, Jacqui faces trial in front of a hostile jury - and could receive the death penalty.

Jacqui knows she's been framed by the illusive Red Dog Gang. But will the jury believe her?

Excerpt:

"Wake up."

Someone pushed my shoulder.

Or was I dreaming?

"Get up!" Urgent, demanding.

A charcoal fog. I couldn't feel my right arm.

This is going to hurt.

"Young lady, you get up this instant!"

My mother-in-law, Molly.

I'd never dreamed of Molly before. Or was I awake?

My arm began to tingle in a nauseating way. My left shoulder was grabbed tightly, shaken. My head throbbed, and my mouth was so dry I couldn't speak.

What happened? Where was Tony? Why was his mother in my bedroom?

Then I remembered where I was: the bottom front room of my apartments on 33 1/3rd Street, Spadros quadrant.

I remembered why I was here: I was under house arrest.

I remembered why I left Spadros Manor: to flee Bridges with Joseph Kerr, the only man I had ever loved.

And Joe was dead.

Website links:

Final Thought …

I picture the Red Dog Conspiracy as a novelization of some yet undiscovered neo-noir miniseries: a Game of Thrones between four crime families (and many other factions) for control of a far future dystopian steampunk city. I hope you enjoy it!

Amy's Bookshelf Reviews: Click HERE for the actual review.

"The Jacq of Spades by Patricia Loofbourrow 4 Stars Intriguingly dark

Magnificent characters are intertwined in this gritty journey into the life of Jacqi. Haunted and forcibly married to a drug lord, she looks for any freedom from her life. It's a guise of the Victorian era, filled with twists and turns that keeps the pages turning. Extremely vibrant and dark at the same time. The hunt for the kidnapped little brother keeps Jacqi focused and hopeful. It's a grand journey where the reader is invited along. I look forward to reading the next in the series. "

0 comments
bottom of page