top of page
  • Amy Shannon

Amy's Bookshelf Reviews: Gender Queer: A Memoir by Maia Kobabe

5 Stars


Interesting memoir with excellent graphics within the graphic novel


What an interesting memoir in the form of a graphic novel, in Gender Queer: A Memoir by Maia Kobabe. I read this book because I saw that it was on a few lists as a banned book. When I sat down to read it, I read it in two sittings. I learned a lot that I didn't know about someone who was born female, but didn't really want to be male or female, just who Eir was. The "Eir" is not a typo, Maia Kobabe uses e/em/eir pronouns. The book has wonderful graphics, and a lot of note and thoughts of the author, and how e met others, some were like Eir and others identified themselves as either lesbian or gay, or bisexual. For a while, Eir identified as bi, and there were a variety of gender identifications that Maia thought maybe would work, but they did not. I understand the title being "Gender Queer" and I found that this was a book that anyone confused about identity should read, even those who are young and trying to figure things out. I enjoyed this read, and as I said, I learned a lot. I also liked that Maia read so many books, and the titles that stood out, were listed so others can read those books as well. I was proud at the ending, finally feeling good with body, soul and clothes, and wearing them with pride. There may have been a couple of graphics that showed nudity or sexual situations, but nothing that should deter people from reading this book, especially people trying to figure out things about the body people live in. Gender Queer: A Memoir by Maia Kobabe is a definite recommendation by Amy's Bookshelf Reviews. This book is on a list of banned books, and I am proud to have read it, and reviewed it.





























1 comment
bottom of page