top of page
  • Amy Shannon

Best Indie Book 2019: #9 Blood Rebirth by S.M. McCoy



This title is # 9 on the Best Indie Books of 2019. All votes and nominations were counted. I am pleased to introduce new stories to readers, so please check out this book.


Blood Rebirth by S.M. McCoy


Synopsis:

A Blood War prophesy. A darkness growing inside her. Can she find the seven powers before the trial grounds are lost forever?

The Oracle's powers need a new vessel and everyone wants the talisman that will give it to them instead of the prophesied successor. In a race against time, Crystal must train herself to survive the trial grounds deep within the underworld and find the seven powers to obtain the talisman before anyone else; or it won't be just her soul at risk, but the whole supernatural realm as she knew it. The war between good and evil rests in the hands of a novice all while she battles her inner demons confused between following her heart or her mind, saving herself or everyone else.


If you like hidden magical realms, fresh new takes on vampire lore, and heartfelt journeys of self-discovery, then you'll love Stevie McCoy's spellbinding coming-of-age tale.


Excerpt:

My throat was dry, and I wanted to ask him more questions.

He leaned over, his hand on my cheek, sending heat down my neck before he whispered in my ear, “You have some choices to make soon. There is no more time for doubts. We are Drawn together, Crystal. Whether you want me or not, I will always be part of your life.”

I placed my hand on his chest to feel the stillness of his unbeating heart. My knees shook under my skirts, and I couldn’t bring myself to admit that every time he was around I lost all logic. I was lost in him, that’s why I didn’t want him around at all.

It scared me.

I clutched his cloak in my fisted hand and wanted to both pull him towards me and shove him away all at once. If everything Kala said was true, then I couldn’t afford to die, even if it meant bonding with him to save a whole species of magic from dying. My ears burned at the thought of spending my life with him, this couldn’t be real.

“Damien,” I whispered his name.

His chest hitched at the sound of my voice like he could read my mind. Us, together. Before I could say a word, the door was swinging softly shut as he sped away. Leaving me alone to read what he left for me.

The book was Serpent’s History of the Blood Wars, and opened to a chapter on the Oracle. He was giving me what I wanted. I smiled to myself, wasn’t that what he’d always done?

I began to read. The Blood Wars started over a marriage. A blood bond between two species. A diviner and a demon. The Moon Goddess demanded a dreamwalker in exchange for a blessing on this union. This dreamwalker would become the Oracle sacrificed for peace between realms. The Council covered up this demand and sacrificed the dreamwalker but did not give blessing to the union.

Guardians were sent to destroy the union.

A war was born.

I slammed the book closed to take a breather from the information. This whole thing started with ignoring the moon goddess and preventing a marriage between species.

I traced the label on the front of the book: Professor’s Edition. Ruins were marked along the whole book. I tried to open the book back up, and regretted my impulse to close my eyes and shut it. It wouldn’t budge.

I’d lost my chance to read more about what I was and why history was repeating itself. Damien knew…



Buylink:



Author Information:




0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page