top of page
  • Amy Shannon

Thoughts: Writing Styles


Every writer has his or her own writing style. If you are a reader, reading a book or story and you do not like the way the writer writes, stop reading and move on. The hardest criticism a writer can face is about their writing style. Now, I'm not talking about misspellings, typos or grammatical errors, but just writing style. Also, not all writing styles fit certain genres.

I have been told that my writing under the penname "Alex Tempera" is "Unpolished". That is certainly not true, but my style of writing may not quite fit the genre, especially with MM romance, but it is something I am working on, just not yet. It does work very well with my BDSM themed eroticas. Alex Tempera is on hiatus, while I focus on my own work and that of my other alter "Royal Henry Bleu".

I have a blunt writing style, and do not always use a lot of "fluff" in the description, but it doesn't mean that it's wrong. Sometimes, I also use "formal" words to prove a point in the story, and some don't always get that point. Crime. Suspense. Cops. Mobsters. Writers.

I have written over 85 novels, not including poems and short stories (none published), and I am in my fourth year (yes, i'm old and went back to school) of getting my Bachelor's degree English. I know how to write. I know grammar rules and how to spell. I also have an imagination that won't quit. I've tried taking a break from writing, but that won't happen until I'm dead.

I have great ideas for stories. I also know how to write those stories, and if the way I write doesn't fit what you like to read, move on, but don't criticize my writing style. I have read several author's works and though, I am not fond of the writing style, I never criticize because I know it's their style.

chalkoutline.jpg

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page