top of page
  • Amy Shannon

Featured Book: Shattered Pages by Amy Shannon


“My soul belongs to your soul. My heart belongs to your heart. My love belongs to your love. My body belongs to your body. My mind belongs to your mind. Myself is yourself. Together, we are one.” -- Link McLaren

"Shattered Pages" by Amy Shannon (Yeah, it's one of mine and one of my favorite books. Link was my all-time favorite character to write for.)

Not a lot of reviews so far (only 7 as of this writing) but they were all 4 and 5 stars.

Yes, there's murder and a little bit of mayhem, and Link is even a person-of-interest in a serial murder investigation because he "writes" about murder and someone is using his thoughts and his books to create their kills.

Here is my favorite scenes in the book:

***

“Detective James Callahan,” he extended his hand.

“What’s this? Official business?” Link smiled.

“Sir, we need to ask you some questions,” the detective said.

“Um, Link,” Charlie said. “We found a woman’s body in the woods.”

“Oh, so that’s what all the extra lights were about. I noticed them this morning when I got up.”

“What do you know about her death?” Callahan took out his notebook and started to write.

“Nothing,” he said. “I didn’t even know she was dead. Why are you asking me about this woman?”

“It is your M.O,” Callahan said.

“I don’t have an M.O,” Link said.

“An M.O is …” Callahan said.

“I know what an M.O is. I just don’t have one since I don’t kill anyone. Why would you think it was me? What links me … pardon the pun … to the crime?”

“You write about it,” Callahan said.

“Excuse me?” Link said. “I write crime stories, so what? It doesn’t mean I commit crimes. I just write about them.”

“These are just like the ones in your book,” Callahan said.

“I don’t know what you’re talking about. I have several books,” he said.

“More like 30, including 10 best-sellers,” Charlie said.

Link shrugged. “I write. I don’t kill,” he said.

“You need to come with us,” Callahan said.

“Why?” Link said.

“We need to ask you some questions,” he said.

“Fine,” Link said. “Just a moment. Sally? Owen?” he called.

Sally and Owen walked out of the office. “Sir?” Sally said.

“Call Edward Lynch,” Link said. “Have him meet me at the Bridgeport Police Department. Right?” he looked at the police.

“Yes,” Charlie said.

“Owen, you need to come with me,” Link said. “I’ll also need my shirt.”

“I’ll get your shirt and your jacket,” Sally said.

“Owen can’t come,” Callahan said.

“I need him to come or I can’t come,” Link said. “He is my assistant. He needs to be there.”

Charlie looked at the panicked look in Link’s eyes. “That won’t be a problem. He may have to sit outside the room when we question you.”

“I just need him there,” Link said, as Sally walked into the room with his shirt and jacket. He pulled the black polo shirt over his head and Sally helped him put on his jacket. “I am ready.”

***

CS_cover front.jpg

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page