top of page
  • Amy Shannon

Poem Showcase: The Portrait of the Family by RitaMarie Recine


THE PORTRAIT OF THE FAMILY

I received a most magnificent painting.

The year was April of 1982

An anniversary present from my parents it depicts a family around a tree

It tells a story in all of its glory

Looking at it in admiration

A journey through the minds eye. festivities continued. reminding me of yesteryear,

Reuniting for a feast never forgetting the vivid painting which hung by the fireplace

The canvas was silent, yet luminous, capturing a moment in time. So enchanting, divine...as people watched sipping wine Its element never dissipates, it enriches and elevates The painting provides warmth on a winter day A story on canvas it is being told.

Every color, every shade depicted is weighed from their attire, to hairstyle This is a painting I cherish, I would never trade Looking in amazement, a young child was I. full of vision...seeing, watching glorifying with my eyes. I had so much love in my heart, the artist and those beautiful lives

As the wax from a candle does melt solemnly. Leaving its fragrance behind, This memorable painting of the family. From generation to generation

Looking at my living room wall I recognize I have a piece of history,

A victory Alluring and enchanting as we celebrated the portrait of my family from generation to generation Grandparents, aunt, uncles, cousins, parents, siblings, spouses and our children’s children too As we celebrated, the portrait of my family

Copyright © RitaMarie Recine

Buylink on Amazon.com


0 comments
bottom of page