top of page
  • Amy Shannon

Author Showcase: Will Mayo


Will Mayo came in at number 4 for the Best Indie Authors of 2018.

Author Bio ... from the author ....

But it's weird sometimes how it works. A few nights ago, I dreamed that we, my parents and I, were back in the old house in Alabama, my parents were about half the age they'd be now whereas, myself, I was just a little boy. And it seems the question of my having another bookcase in my apartment here in Maryland was somehow raised, there being little enough room to spare, and, well, my sweet little old mother turned to me, her young eyes shining, and then glanced to my father. "I think he can have another bookcase, don't you, Joe?" she asserted to my father and me, almost simultaneously. My father gave his agreement with the barest of perceptible nods. And that was that.

The next day I rose to my own reality with only the faintest memory of that peculiar dream, knowing, of course, that my father was dead and my mother now in her 80s and in her declining senescence in a nursing home down South. Needless to say, I thought little of the dream. It was just one of many strange ones throughout the year. Save for one important fact: While waiting for a ride out to the store later that afternoon I couldn't help but notice an old and battered bookcase leaning against an overflowing dumpster. Inspecting it, I remarked to myself, "This'll do just fine." In the few minutes remaining to me before my ride arrived I hauled it up to my rooms where I found a place for it in one corner.

"Ah, at last!" I exclaimed and then hurried off to the store. It was just another day in the life of Old Will. Between dreams, I walk an enchanted road. I count myself a lucky man.

“The Interview”

What is the one thing you want to tell your readers?

YOU ARE APPRECIATED, YOU ARE THE REASON I WRITE, YOU WILL FIND ENTERTAINMENT IN MY BOOKS, POETRY, LIFE, DEATH, SANITY AND MADNESS.

What advice can you give to other authors?

KEEP WRITING, WORK HARD FOR WHAT YOU WANT AND LOVE THE LIFE YOU HAVE

The Books: ROADMAPS OF THE MIND THE HORRORS OF DUNBLANE KENNEDY'S COCONUT

Author's Final thought (about anything)

CATS ARE GREAT WRITING COMPANIONS.


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page