top of page
  • Amy Shannon

Showcase: Theresa Jacobs


Theresa Jacobs was nominated as an Indie Author who deserves appreciation and acknowledgement of her work. I am pleased to present this author a showcase blog post.

Author Bio:

Theresa Jacobs believes in magic, fairies, dragons, and ghosts. Yet she trusts science and thinks that aliens know way too much.

Though she still works 9-5 for the man, she has published a horror novel, two Sci-Fi novels, four horror novellas, many anthologies, children's books, and poetry. She is also an ex-contributor to 1428elm.com an online horror magazine.

When she is not at work, she spends her time, reading, writing, exercising her dog, and binge-watching TV shows, with her long-time partner and fiancé.

She is also a big movie buff and a sci-fi nerd at heart.

“The Interview”

Why do you write?

I write because I have too. It’s a natural calling and if I am not writing I am not truly happy.

Brag about ONE accomplishment as a writer.

This September 12th 2019 at 7:30 a short film I wrote will be premiering as The Toronto Independent Film Festival. If you are in, or coming to, Toronto this fall, be sure to check it out. The film is titled Death Game.

Name up to five people who inspire you.

My biggest inspiration is Lisa Crawford – without her I would not be where I am today. She also produced and directed my film above.

Stephen King for producing stories that made me want to emulate him.

My mother, who instilled in me that being whoever I wanted to be was the only option.

My father, who wrote and sang my entire life but was afraid to share it with the world, therefore I’m doing it for him.

David Kummer, a teenager that lived his high school years writing novels and still finding time to be a teen. I meet him at the beginning of my journey into writing, and I hope to one day attend his bestseller book signing.

If you could sit down with anyone, living or dead, and have a conversation with, who would it be?

I’ve always said J.B Cooper. I’m fascinated by what he did and have always wanted to know the truth. Why, how, and did he live or die?

Books:

  • Cataclysm

  • Kept

  • Wife n’ Death

  • The Used

  • The Cimmerians

The Zombie Effect

Synopsis:

In a time when zombie tv is the new norm, three young boys decide a zombie survival club would be a great idea. Balancing on the precipice between childhood and young adulthood, they decide to take their club to the next level.

Friends since kindergarten, Mason has always been the leader of the pack. Ethan is a follower and joins in whatever is happening, while Caleb has stronger morals, and is usually the group mediator.

When the simple idea a survival game changes to donning Halloween masks and scaring people, Ethan takes to the fun enthusiastically and begins to spiral into darkness. The roles alter, Mason becomes the follower, while Caleb is not keen on the game. Not at all.

Especially when it changes to a twisted game of torture, and worse…

Excerpt:

Caleb glanced about to make sure no one was listening to them. No one was, the other kids were too busy laughing, roughhousing, and having a blast at the half-day. He leaned closer to Mason. “You’ve killed people,” he whispered.

Mason crossed his arms. “Prove it.”

Caleb’s eyes watered. The truth was there in his friend’s face, sealing the deal — this was it — their lives were forever altered. Without another word, he turned and ran.

Website links:

Final Thought …

Thank you, Amy, for showcasing me today. I want everyone out there to know that I am always open to talking and sharing what I have learned as an indie writer. If you want to join up on social media, please feel free.

Having said that, if you stay tuned I am aiming to have a new serial killer novel, trade published next year. And I am currently writing a YA thriller, romance about a girl falling in love with a gargoyle. There will be something for everyone on my pages. I hope to meet you there. Theresa Jacobs.


0 comments
bottom of page