top of page
  • Amy Shannon

Showcase: Michelle Holland


Michelle Holland was nominated as an Indie Author who deserves appreciation and acknowledgement of her work. I am pleased to present this author a showcase blog post.

Author Bio:

Michelle Holland lives in Brighton and became passionate about pony rescue after taking on a neglected New Forest pony 26 years ago who she named Bella. What really touched her heart was the priceless transformation over a one-year period. After some hard work and understanding Bella turned into a healthy & trusting pony.

In 1995 Michelle opened her own sanctuary for New Forest ponies and saved and rehomed over 57 from slaughter over a five-year period. Michelle found this very rewarding and the time she gave was also voluntary. This was totally self-funded and her team of volunteers had to raise over £80,000 per year to keep it going. During this period Michelle took on Chelsea who was 6 months old and riddled with lice and worms. Chelsea was so traumatised she would attack any man who came near her, but after plenty of patience and tender loving care Michelle and Chelsea formed a truly awesome and stayed together for many years. Michelle dealt with many difficult ponies, young foals that had been taken away from their homes too early, wild mares, and many sick foals who needed calm and understanding and ongoing veterinary care. Body language played a very important part and Michelle had a team of over 30 volunteers helping on a rota, and that is how she met her best friend Hannah. Michelle also received an award from the Mayor of Eastbourne for all her hard work within the community. Chelsea and the pony rescue days inspired Michelle to write her books.

“The Interview”

Tell me two things about yourself that are separate from writing.

I love to help any animal in need and work hard raising money to donate to sanctuaries in need all over the world. I am a qualified dog behaviourist with the ISCP and love to help any rescue dogs who have issues.

Why do you write?

I suffer with Fibromyalgia, so I write to give me something to focus on other than my illness.

Brag about ONE accomplishment as a writer.

Receiving emails like this:

Your books have helped me to see that if you face a problem it will all work out okay. Also, in your recent book when Emily is working with Specks, it has helped guide me with training work that I am doing with a friend’s horse that has come off the moors and is very nervous around people. She’s learning slowly. I love how your books are so unique and don’t "copy" other horse books where something goes missing or someone is stolen. I truly love each and every book you have written and it is clear that a lot of thought has gone into every word. I love your work and how you also donate some of the money made from your books to charities.

Steph Lewis aged 16.

Name up to five people who inspire you

My Mum and Dad, the children who are desperate to read any of my new books. Steph Lewis. Amy Shannon your fabulous book reviews help me to believe in myself.

If you could sit down with anyone, living or dead, and have a conversation with, who would it be?

My Mum who sadly passed away suddenly in 2011. Mum would be so proud of my books.

Books:

  • The adventures of Bella & Emily

  • The adventures of Bella & Emily in Devon

  • The adventures of Bella & Emily Devon-Revisited Week One

  • The adventures of Bella & Emily Devon-Revisited Week Two

  • The adventures of Bella & Emily Devon-Revisited Week Three

The adventures of Bella & Emily Devon-Revisited Week Three

This is the long awaited fifth book in the series of The adventures of Bella & Emily. Emily’s third and final week assisting Aunty Pam at her Rescue Centre in Devon. Another week full of many surprises. Could there be another rescue mission on the cards? Perhaps a talking donkey? Can Aunty Pam and Specks finally bond with Emily's help? There will be thrills and spills with the numerous rescue animals. Will Emily’s fundraising efforts reach new heights?

Website links:

https://www.facebook.com/Pennypops14/

Final Thought …

My passion is to raise awareness of rescue animals, to teach my readers how to care for them and understand the hard work that goes into fundraising. The most important message I want to get across is to never give up on an animal in need. Listen to them and you will know what they are saying.

50% of all profits from the sale of my books will be donated to rescues in need.

I decided to donate 100% of the sales from The adventures of Bella & Emily and this has amounted to £2318.05 to date between my five chosen rescues. I am out of pocket, but I don’t care, I love helping animals and bringing joy to my readers.

0 comments
bottom of page