top of page
  • Amy Shannon

A personal plea from my son, William


William asked me to repost this. He's such a loving son, and a big help to me. Yet, he still gets frustrated, and my boys shouldn't have to be taking care of me all the time. William has special needs, and is bipolar (but he has it under control without any medication), He is always frustrated when he doesn't know how to help me, so he came up with this idea.


Yes, it was his idea, and he asked me to post it on my blog, so it can reach more people, because he says I know more people than he does.


So here it is: This is the story:


Hi, I'm William and I'm fundraising for my mom. My mom was injured 15 years ago by my father, who tried to kill her. My mom fought hard for him to go to jail and even went head to head with the local DA to get him charged, and eventually he went to prison. He died after he got out. She took care of my brothers and me, all by herself. Ever since then, she has suffered daily migraines that affect her thinking, her memory, and is always in pain. My mom has had three different knee reconstruction surgeries. Over the years, her headaches have gotten worse and caused other symptoms, but she always took care of me and my brothers first. Now, me and my brothers are grown and have to take care of her. In the past two years, she got worse, and started getting tremors in her hands and body. My mom wrote a lot of books, and now she can barely write or type to do what she loves to do. The tremors started getting worse and worse, and now affects her legs and she gets leg spasms when she sleeps and now when she stands or walks. She falls down a lot. She now has what they call ocular migraines, or migraines in her Left eye, which causes vision problems. These problems also cause her to be off balance and to fall down. Now, she has to have a walker to walk so she has something to keep her stable. She has counseling sessions to help her with her depression, PTSD, and the new frustrations of her disorders. This has changed her daily living. She needs help, and even when she tries to do stuff on her own. It's hard on her, and me and my brothers. I hate seeing my mom on the ground because she fell. I don't like it when she can't remember stuff, even when she writes it down. Her handwriting is bad, and even she can't read it sometimes. I do my best to help her. My brother Robert is her driver, so whenever she needs to do something, he drives her. I wish my mom could get better, but she probably will only get worse over time.


Here is the link to the gofundme page he set up for me.





0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page