top of page
  • Amy Shannon

April's Featured Author: Eric Danoff

Eric Danoff is this month's Featured Author on The Official Blog of Amy Shannon Featured author page at https://writeramyshannon.wixsite.com/amyshannonblog/featured-authors



Amy Shannon: In three words, describe yourself.


Eric Danhoff: learning and watching


Amy Shannon: How many books have you written? How many of those are published?


Eric Danhoff: I have three novels, a book of short stories, and two books of poems all self-published.


Amy Shannon: Do you have an upcoming release? If yes, tell me the title and impending release date.


Eric Danhoff: I recently released two short stories on Valentine’s Day.

“The Rooms Have You Now” is my version of hell being envisioned as an office building.

“tell them about the revolving doors…” is a piece of experimental fiction in which the story is told through journals from a patient in an asylum, who moves back and forth between writing pages from the dictionary and memories of his former lover who drove him to madness.


Amy Shannon: Tell me about how you come up with your titles for your stories. Do you create the title before or after you write the book, and does it ever change from the initial title?


Eric Danhoff: The titles have always come before the manuscript for me. The title sets the stage and the tone.


Amy Shannon: Out of all your characters in all of your books, who/what (sometimes a setting can also be an important “character”) do you think is the most interesting and why?


Eric Danhoff: Paavo Harker from my books ‘The Black Eclipse’ and ‘Wasteland Heart’ who is a detective with a hole in his chest that reveals his heart. He was my first protagonist, so that character will always hold a special place for me since I’ve spent the most time crafting and envisioning them.


Amy Shannon: If you could “create” your own genre of what you write, what would you call your books?


Eric Danhoff: I’ve always liked the term “Jazzpunk” considering my novels have been inspired by cyberpunk and noir books. Then I found out there was a video game called Jazzpunk, which was really good and much funnier than my writing so I will need to think of another one fast.


Amy Shannon: Without quoting your back cover blurb, tell me about the last book you published.


Eric Danhoff: ‘Diamond Blood’ is a collection of stories and poems inspired by the paintings of my daughter. I really opened myself up and allowed more vulnerability than before. Fiction has always been a mask for me but slowly over time, my family inspires and strengthens me to own my mistakes and take steps beyond them.


Amy Shannon: Quote your favorite line from one of your stories. Indicate the line, and then the book title.


Eric Danhoff: “Admiration of the flowers, made her spin in small circles, a private dance for him and the garden.” Wasteland Heart



Amy Shannon: Tell me something about yourself that is separate from writing.


Eric Danhoff: I have been playing guitar since 2001 and have a podcast where my friend and I react to bad songs on the internet.


Amy Shannon: Who are your top THREE favorite authors?


Eric Danhoff: Haruki Murakami, Hunter S Thompson and Albert Camus.


Amy Shannon: What is the last book that you read? (Not counting anything you wrote)


Eric Danhoff: An autobiography written by a pro wrestler named Jon Moxley.


Amy Shannon: When writing, do you have a system or something you plan, or do you just write?


Eric Danhoff: I make outlines and chapter lists. Some chapters I treat like episodes for a season of television, starting with a few sentence summary to piece together everything into a manuscript of carefully organized puzzle pieces.


Amy Shannon: Why do you write?


Eric Danhoff: I write to leave a mark on the world, however small.


Amy Shannon: Do you currently have a WIP? If yes, what’s the title, and is it part of a series or standalone?


Eric Danhoff: The title for my work in progress is “The Whispers in the Water”. It will be a standalone romance story that will include elements of horror, the supernatural and multiple time periods. I never make it easy for myself.


Amy Shannon: Do you read your own work a lot? If so, what does it do for you?


Eric Danhoff: Never more than a few pages every once in a while. Sometimes I go back as a way to propel myself to continue writing when I am on the brink of leaving it behind.


Amy Shannon: I play music when I write, and depending on the setting or mood of the story depends on what I listen to. Do you listen to music when you write? If so, what genre or artist/band do you listen to?


Eric Danhoff: Music is integral to my writing and brainstorming. I have playlists and soundtracks I design to set scenes, inspire dialogue and begin worldbuilding.


Amy Shannon: As an author, I find that the hardest thing to write (for me) is the blurb that will be on the back cover or book’s description. When you write, what is the hardest line to write, the first line, the last line or the synopsis for the book?


Eric Danhoff: Synopsis most definitely. I am still trying to find my way as a salesman for my own work. I’ve always felt more comfortable toiling away in the dark.


Amy Shannon: If you could sit down and have a coffee (or your favorite beverage) with anyone, living or dead, from any era, any time, who would it be and why? (You can pick up to 3 persons).


Eric Danhoff: Living? Maynard James Keenan of Tool (my favorite vocalist) and Michaela Coel, as I am a massive fan of I May Destroy You (excellent show). Dead would have to be David Bowie, as his creativity and changes in style have been very inspirational to me as I continue writing into my thirties.


Amy Shannon: What does it mean to be a “successful” writer?


Eric Danhoff: If the writing changes you or someone else for the better.


Amy Shannon: What do you want to accomplish, so when you look back at your life, you can say “I did that”?


Eric Danhoff: There are days when I feel accomplished and there are days I feel despite eight releases and humbling reviews, I have done nothing.


Amy Shannon: I am on a quest to read as many banned, burned or challenged books as possible? What is your feeling or opinion on banning books? It seems to be a new epidemic now.


Eric Danhoff: Banning books seems to be another way for people with a little power to censor things they don’t understand or agree with. I grew up wanting to find and read things I was told were too old for me and I think that will be the case for my own children. I wouldn’t have an issue with Maus being taught and showcased in my kid’s library. Understanding and acceptance is the key.


Amy Shannon: Any final thoughts that you want to give to your fans or even future authors?


Eric Danhoff: Drown yourself in music and writing outside your comfort zone.


Social Media:

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page