top of page
  • Amy Shannon

Contrary Measures by Amy Shannon

Contrary Measures is this month's "Featured Book" on my website at http://writeramyshannon.wixsite.com/stories


Contrary Measures was rebranded and republished in 2017. (It was formerly published under my previous married name).


The Kindle Edition of Contrary Measures is 2.99 on Amazon.com.



About Contrary Measures:


Truths transform into lies as emotions clash with broken memories


Rayna Larson lost her entire life in a single moment. On the edge of impending loneliness, she sets out to find something ... something that will improve her new life. Clashing emotions and memories contradict each other, making Rayna wonder about what was and how she will get to will be. Soon, she finds herself nursing a mysterious man who literally drops at her feet. The connection she feels for the familiar stranger, Ethan Phillips, is something she can't even deny. Trust becomes a big issue as pieces of her old life fall into place, and yet, others disappear. Rayna wonders if she can trust herself, her feelings for Ethan, and any answers she gets about her old life. In some ways, Ethan is a big help, and other ways, he’s more secretive than she realizes, especially when she realizes that his secrets overlap with her own past.


Who took her life away and who wants to keep it buried and locked away in her mind forever?



Excerpt:


She handed Ethan the robe and helped him put it on. “Thanks. I don’t normally sleep naked, so this is a little weird for me.”

“I washed out your clothes. Your boxers should be dry by now,” she went into the bathroom and felt the clothes on the line. She grabbed the boxers and gave them to Ethan. “These are dry. I was able to get most of the blood out of your clothes, but your shirt and T-shirt have bullet holes in them. You won’t be able to wear those, I guess.”

“These are good for now. It’s not like I can go anywhere in this condition.”

She gave him some more penicillin. “Here, take this.”

He took the pills. “Can I ask you something?”

“OK,” she sat down in the chair.

“Last night, when we kissed, you said that you thought you’d never been kissed like that. What did you mean?”

“Well,” she leaned back in the chair. “About a year ago, I was in a car accident. I ended up with amnesia. I don’t remember anything about my life up to the day I woke up. They only thing that I have left from that part of my life is my nursing skills. No one can explain it to me. It’s the way it is.”

“Oh, I’m sorry. I didn’t realize.”

“Don’t worry about it. My husband, I mean, ex-husband, Charley, tried to get me to feel the way I did before the accident. It didn’t work. He pushed too hard. Once he realized that I couldn’t return his feelings, he went out and found woman after woman to get something, I don’t know what. He walked out and here I am.”

“I guess I was right. He is a jerk.”

“At least he shows it,” she smiled. “If he hadn’t left, I would have. He says that I don’t have any feelings. He says I’m cold and heartless. He may be right.”

“If you had no feelings, you wouldn’t have saved me. You would have left me to die.”

“Well, enough about me, there’s not a lot to tell. My whole life has been this past year.”

He took her hand. “Do you ever wonder about what your life was like before?”

“Sometimes. I only have to go by what Charley told me. I think that he is keeping something from me, but I guess I’ll never know unless he tells me.”

“Maybe that’s why he keeps showing up.”

“I don’t know. Let’s get back to you,” she said. “I know you won’t tell me why you got shot, but what is your life about?”



Contrary Measures is available for sale on amazon.com in both Kindle and Paperback.


Contrary Measures was the second book that I wrote.


https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B073X2YB2K/

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page