top of page
  • Amy Shannon

Don't let yourself be taken advantage!


The writing community should support each other. I like helping other authors. I find it very upsetting when an author is taken advantage of, especially by someone who is supposed to be their ally and help them promote their work. The costs are high when it happens, and sometimes nothing is done, but the professional (sarcasm) still keeps the money. They tell the author, "we will promote your work. We will get you published. We will market your work." or something similar. Then, there is the contract. Money up front, sales generate a percentage of the work(s).


I work with a lot of publicists, publishers, book promoters, editors and the like, when I do reviews for their clients. No everyone takes advantage, and yes, if you want someone to work for you, you need to pay them. Before you do, and this is my recommendation, do research before approaching a publicist or agent, or any literary professional that you need to work for you. Then, when you decide, get a written contract, and know exactly what they are supposed to do. When they work for you, they should be able to tell you what they are doing for you. You should be able to get updates.


Always know what is going on with your work. As an author, you decide what you want to do, how to publish, who to use as an editor, cover designer, marketing. Even if you hire someone, you decide. Stay in control. If you are new the process, there are people that you can turn to.


We are a writing community, and we should support each other, lift each other up. I will do whatever I can help other authors. I work hard on doing my reviews, that being my primary business. I have editing services, and I will also do feedback for authors not quite sure about their finished work. My partner and I have our podcasts and we interview authors and other literary professionals. We also have our business, for promoting literary professionals, and even being writing coaches to other authors. We, McKensie Stewart, want to help life up authors, and get them promoted. That's why we do what we do. We are also always upfront with costs, and what can be expected, depending on the business.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page