top of page
  • Amy Shannon

Poetry Tuesday: I used to Be


I used to be short

Oh, wait, still am

I used to be shorter

I used to be young,

Oh, wait, still act that way

I used to be old

Sometimes I act old

Sometimes I feel old,

Sometimes, I just am

I used to be thin

Oh, wait, uh, yeah, that's right

used to be thin

I used to be fat

Oh, wait, still am

I used to cry

I used to laugh

oh, wait, still do

I used to be weak

oh, wait, I don't think so

I used to be strong

Oh, wait, I still am strong

I used to be too independent

Now, I'm just "right"

Oh, wait, there's no such thing

I used to be smart

Yes, that's true, now, I'm smarter

I used to be who you thought i was

Nope, now that isn't true

I used to be me.

Oh, wait, I've always been me

fat, thin, young, old, smart, smarter

independent

me.



0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page