top of page
  • Amy Shannon

Poetry Tuesdays: Safe Haven

The Sun wraps its warmth around the earth

the trees shade over me, providing shelter

The warmth still creeps through the leaves

while the wind blows soft gentle breezes


Lying at the base of the largest tree

the cool dirt under my body

the soft sounds of birds chirping

the quiet chatter of nearby squirrels


Pen in hand, notebook on my lap

writing frantically, patiently, contently

peace with my mind, free of disturbance

the forest becomes my home


quick splashing of the roaring creek

toads and frogs croaking

part of the land, part of the water

free to be in peace


safe from the world

hidden deep within nature

nothing to fear

nothing to harm


Pen in hand, notebook on my lap

writing frantically, patiently, contently

peace with my mind, free of disturbance

the forest becomes my home




0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page