top of page
  • Amy Shannon

When I think about myself by Maya Angelou

April is National Poetry Month. This post honors the late Maya Angelou



When I think about myself by Maya Angelou (this is one of my favorites)


When I think about myself,

I almost laugh myself to death,

My life has been one great big joke,

A dance that's walked

A song that's spoke,

I laugh so hard I almost choke

When I think about myself.


Sixty years in these folks' world

The child I works for calls me girl

I say 'Yes ma'am' for working's sake.

Too proud to bend

Too poor to break,

I laugh until my stomach ache,

When I think about myself.


My folks can make me split my side,

I laughed so hard I nearly died,

The tales they tell, sound just like lying,

They grow the fruit,

But eat the rind,

I laugh until I start to crying,

When I think about my folks.


Maya Angelou

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page