top of page
  • Writer's pictureABSR

Beware of Review "Farms"

Up until today, I had never heard of a review farm. Someone (confidentially) let me know that a review company under the guise of book tours, is a review farm. A review farm I guess is where reviewers get paid to review books and, get as many fake reviews as possible for their authors. I didn't know this, and I fell for it. However, all of my reviews (I had only given two, which are now deleted from the places I posted), were honest reviews. I was lucky enough to have someone let me know when they discovered this, and assumed that I was an ethical reviewer.


I am an ethical reviewer. I read what is sent me, and all the reviews are free. I do have a system of cost of video reviews or donations for specific bookshelves, or to pay it forward, but I never, EVER was bribed by money to write a specific type of review. I only do honest and unbiased reviews, 3 stars and up.


I want to set the records straight before my reputation gets tarnished. I am appalled that I was duped and fell for something like this. I always try to do my due diligence to research any review requests, especially from third parties, and not direct authors, but I missed this one.


I will not say the name of the company, since I can't prove it one way or another, but I am here, telling all of you, be careful out there, when seeking reviews. I will be more careful when accepting requests.


Thank you

Amy's Bookshelf Reviews




0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Announcement from Amy Shannon

Amy's Bookshelf Reviews is getting its own website soon. The old website will still be up and running to keep the reviews where they are on that site. Nothing will change until the transition is compl

bottom of page