top of page
  • Amy Shannon

First of First:  Prowl


First of first #firstoffirst refers to the first chapter in the first book in the series.

Blurb: Andrea Wallace cannot go anywhere without her shadow, Keith Leonard Fontana … a man obsessed with her. Stalking her for years, his behavior escalates. When she starts dating a police officer, Fontana becomes more unhinged, killing or attacking anyone she encounters.

Andrea meets local FBI profiler, Special Agent John Marshall, who is assigned to her case. Marshall helps her realize her natural talents of observation and perception, which could save her life.

After Fontana finally catches her, the story is far from over. Andrea reaches inside herself for inner strength and turns the tables on her stalker. Andrea teams up with Marshall and her new pet, former police K-9 dog Ralph.

The truth behind Fontana comes out but he may not be alone in the shadows.

Chapter One : SHADOW

ANDREA STARED OUT the window as the rain splattered against the glass. Her eyes focused on the street light that was blurred by shadows. She couldn’t see him, but she knew he was there. Hiding in the shadows. Following her wherever she went. Wherever she was, he was there. He wasn’t even hiding. He was in plain sight. Her sight and she was in his sight. No one thought it was a big deal. “Just ignore him,” her friends would say, but how can a shadow be ignored? The police were unable to help. He wasn’t hurting her. He wasn’t threatening her. He was just there. “Call us when he does something wrong,” she could hear Officer Harmon of the Louisville police department say to her the last time she reported him. Him. Yeah, him. Keith Leonard Fontana. Why did all the creepy men have three names? She had no idea how long he had been following her, but it wasn’t until about two and a half years ago when he first approached her. He said he was her admirer. He said he loved her. He said they would always be together. That he would never let her go. Andrea pulled down the shade and walked over to the sofa. This was the sixth apartment in two years. She thought she could run away from Fontana, but somehow, no matter what she did, he found her. Andrea sat on the sofa and picked up her glass of wine. She jumped slightly when her cell phone rang. She looked at the number shown on the caller ID and took a deep breath. “Hello?” she answered. “It’s me, Carla,” her best friend said on the other end of the line. “Oh, hi,” she said. “So, did he ask you out?” “Yes, Andi,” her voice smiled. “I don’t know why it took him so long, but he finally did. He does have a friend.” “I don’t know,” Andrea said. “It’s been years since you dated,” Carla said. “Every time I like someone, he gets scared away,” she said. “Oh, right, your shadow,” Carla said. “I don’t know how you deal with it.” “I don’t do it very well. No matter what I do, he finds me,” she said. “He even has my phone number.” “Again? How did he get it?” “I have no idea,” Andrea said. “He thinks we’re dating.” “I wish I could help,” Carla said. “I don’t know how to help myself. I’ve had to make all the allowances and it still doesn’t work. Maybe I should get myself admitted into the hospital just to get a break.” “You want that?” Carla said. “I can get you admitted.” “Yeah, for what? Going insane?” “Mental health is not my specialty. Now, if you have a heart attack …” “I just may with my blood pressure,” Andrea said. “I’m on call tonight, but if you need me, just call me,” she said. “I’ll be fine,” Andrea said. “I hope. Some days …” she sighed. “What is it?” she asked. “If he would do something … other than what he is doing now, I could get a restraining order or even have him arrested.” “I don’t want you hurt,” Carla said. “Oh, crap. I’m being paged. I have to go. I’ll call you later. Think about the date.” “I’ll think about it,” she said. “I’ll talk to you soon.” She hung up. She sipped her wine and stared at the blank television set. She looked toward the window and shook her head. She picked up her journal and stared down at last night’s entry. She picked up her pen and started to write. Shadows lurking in every corner, voices in the distance, watching … that’s all he does … following, lurking, obsessed. In the mind of connections, when all links shall be broken, feelings that once were are gone. But lingering thoughts, imagination, hallucinations. Intense and fearful that will be captured. Feelings intensified, feels not returned lead to danger. Danger of unknown when obsession is on the prowl.

***

Hope you enjoyed chapter one of "Prowl". You can purchase the book to finish by clicking on the book cover.

Next book in the series ... "Preyfiler"

Prowl is part of the Profiler duo and each book is a stand alone story.


0 comments
bottom of page