top of page
  • Amy Shannon

The One that Got Away by Amy Shannon


The One that Got Away by Amy Shannon

The eyes that gazes across the room the deep voice that drew me in the heart that kept me memorized

the time that went too fast the fate that slipped by the one that got away

the hand that held my heart the lips that whispered softly the ears that listened intently

the time that went too fast the fate that slipped by the one that got away

the mind that kept wandering the thoughts that keep dreaming the heart that keeps loving

the time that went too fast the fate that slipped by the one that got away

the soul that sang to me The love that surrounds my heart the miles that keep us apart

the time that went too fast the fate that slipped by the one that got away

The other loves the old loves the new loves

the time that went too fast the fate that slipped by the one that got away

Poet's Note: This poem is NOT yet published in a poetry book, and remains my property.


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page