top of page
  • Amy Shannon

Inspiration


I hope that one day, when I write, I will inspire. That is my

ultimate aspiration, to inspire, as I am inspired by people, by music, by words, yes most definitely words, and by life.

As I was putting together a collection of my poetry and other thoughts for my new project "All of my Yesterdays," I realized I need more content, for it to be what I want it to be.

Recently, I read a book ("Not Quite the Classics") written by comedian Colin Mochrie (best known for being a regular on all the series of the Whose Line is it Anyways? Franchises) and he was inspired by taking the first line and last line of a classic book, and writing the story in between. (So, maybe someday I may try something like that). But this gave me the idea of using what always inspires me, and adding my own touch to it, so, for part of this collection, I call "All of my Yesterdays," I am taking song titles (some well known, some maybe not so much, or just considered to be oldies or beyond oldies) and writing a poem to fit the title.

I found it was a way to open up creativeness, and it also lets me just write the words and feel good about writing, and then, when I look to my other finished projects that still need to be edited, I can do that with ease. Or, when I'm looking at my list of WIPs, I can see clearly where I want to start, and which one I want to tackle as my next current project.

Just a thought, inspired by others, and hoping to inspire others, somewhere, some time.

Stay tuned for when "All of My Yesterdays" will be released.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Happy Birthday to Contrary Measures

Contrary Measures was originally released May 30th 2006 under the name Amy Witkowski. Since its original release, the book was rebranded, updated and released on October 1 2017 under the name of Amy S

bottom of page